## SECOND REGULAR SESSION

## House Concurrent Resolution No. 72

## 99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE KIDD.

	5966H.01I D. ADAM CRUMBLISS, Chief Clerk
2	WHEREAS, the state of Missouri has a diverse and dynamic weather system that changes on a daily basis; and
3	
4 5	WHEREAS, residents of the state of Missouri are subjected to natural disasters and emergencies at all times of the year, including tornadoes, floods, droughts, and ice storms; and
6	
7 8 9	<b>WHEREAS</b> , the state of Missouri needs to streamline response to emergency and natural disaster situations so that Missouri residents receive timely and effective assistance when needed; and
10	
11 12	WHEREAS, current Missouri law is not up-to-date with the emergency response challenges currently facing the state; and
13	
14 15	<b>WHEREAS</b> , local emergency management teams deserve clear and concise guidelines in order to most effectively complete their tasks should an emergency situation arise:
16	
17 18 19	<b>NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED</b> that the members of the Missouri House of Representatives, Ninety-ninth General Assembly, Second Regular Session, the Senate concurring therein, hereby create the Task Force on Emergency Management; and
20	
21 22 23	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the mission of the task force shall be to study the state's emergency management laws, specifically those contained in chapter 44 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, and make recommendations for improvements and updates; and
24	
25 26	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the task force shall consist of the following members, who shall be appointed on or before October 1, 2018:

(1) One member appointed by the governor;

27

HCR 72 2

28 29	(2) One member representing the Missouri Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (MOVOAD);
30 31	(3) One member representing the Governor's Faith-Based and Community Service Partnership for Disaster Recovery who has substantial experience in disaster recovery;
32 33 34	(4) Two members representing the Missouri Emergency Management Association (MOEMA), one who has substantial experience serving rural areas, and one with substantial experience serving urban areas in all phases of disaster;
35	(5) One member who is an emergency manager who shall serve as an at-large member;
36	(6) Two members appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate;
37	(7) Two members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
38	(8) The director of the department of public safety or his or her designee; and
39	(9) The director of the state emergency management agency or his or her designee; and
40	
41 42	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the task force shall hold its first meeting no later than November 1, 2018, and shall meet at least monthly thereafter; and
43	
44 45 46	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the task force shall hold at least one listening meeting in Jefferson City, Missouri, with an outline of such meeting to be set within thirty days of the task force first meeting; and
47	
48 49	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that administrative support and technical assistance for the task force shall be provided by the department of public safety; and
50	
51 52 53	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the task force, its members, and any staff assigned to the task force shall serve without compensation and shall not be reimbursed for their expenses; and
54	
55 56 57	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the task force shall prepare a report containing its findings and recommendations and shall deliver such report to the General Assembly no later than December 31, 2018; and
58	
59 60 61	<b>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</b> that the task force is authorized to function during the legislative interim of the second regular session of the Ninety-ninth General Assembly, as authorized by <i>State v. Atterburry</i> , 300 S.W.2d 806 (Mo. 1957); and

HCR 72 3

- 62 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Chief Clerk of the Missouri House of
- 63 Representatives be instructed to prepare properly inscribed copies of this resolution for the

64 Governor and the Director of the Department of Public Safety.

/