FIRST REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 342

101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE SANDER.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 115.607, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to political committee qualifications.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 115.607, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu 2 thereof, to be known as section 115.607, to read as follows:

115.607. 1. No person shall be elected or shall serve as a member of a county or city committee who is not, for one year next before the person's election, both a registered voter of 2 and a resident of the county or city not within a county and the committee district from which 3 the person is elected if such district shall have been so long established, and if not, then of the 4 district or districts from which the same shall have been taken. 5 Except as provided in subsections 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 of this section, the membership of a county or city committee of each 6 established political party shall consist of a man and a woman elected from each precinct, 7 8 township, or ward in the county or city not within a county.

9 2. In each county of the first classification containing the major portion of a city which has over three hundred thousand inhabitants, two members of the committee, a man and a 10 woman, shall be elected from each ward in the city. Any township entirely contained in the city 11 12 shall have no additional representation on the county committee. The election authority for the county shall, not later than six months after the decennial census has been reported to the 13 14 President of the United States, divide the most populous township outside the city into eight subdistricts of contiguous and compact territory and as nearly equal in population as practicable. 15 16 The subdistricts shall be numbered from one upward consecutively, which numbers shall, insofar 17 as practicable, be retained upon reapportionment. Two members of the county committee, a man

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

1156H.01I

HB 342

18 and a woman, shall be elected from each such subdistrict. Six members of the committee, three 19 men and three women, shall be elected from the second and third most populous townships 20 outside the city. Four members of the committee, two men and two women, shall be elected 21 from the other townships outside the city.

_ _

22 3. In any city which has over three hundred thousand inhabitants, the major portion of 23 which is located in a county with a charter form of government, for the portion of the city located 24 within such county and notwithstanding section 82.110, it shall be the duty of the election 25 authority, not later than six months after the decennial census has been reported to the President 26 of the United States, to divide such cities into not less than twenty-four nor more than 27 twenty-five wards after each decennial census. Wards shall be so divided that the number of 28 inhabitants in any ward shall not exceed any other ward of the city and within the same county, 29 by more than five percent, measured by the number of the inhabitants determined at the 30 preceding decennial census.

31 4. In each county of the first classification containing a portion, but not the major 32 portion, of a city which has over three hundred thousand inhabitants, ten members of the committee, five men and five women, shall be elected from the district of each state 33 34 representative wholly contained in the county in the following manner: within six months after 35 each legislative reapportionment, the election authority shall divide each legislative district 36 wholly contained in the county into five committee districts of contiguous territory as compact 37 and as nearly equal in population as may be; two members of the committee, a man and a 38 woman, shall be elected from each committee district. The election authority shall divide the 39 area of the county located within legislative districts not wholly contained in the county into 40 similar committee districts; two members of the committee, a man and a woman, shall be elected 41 from each committee district.

42 5. In each city not situated in a county, two members of the committee, a man and a 43 woman, shall be elected from each ward.

6. In all counties with a charter form of government and a population of over nine hundred thousand inhabitants, the county committee persons shall be elected from each township. Within ninety days after August 28, 2002, and within six months after each decennial census has been reported to the President of the United States, the election authority shall divide the county into twenty-eight compact and contiguous townships containing populations as nearly equal in population to each other as is practical.

50 7. If any election authority has failed to adopt a reapportionment plan by the deadline set 51 forth in this section, the county commission, sitting as a reapportionment commission, shall 52 within sixty days after the deadline, adopt a reapportionment plan. Changes of township, ward,

HB 342

or precinct lines shall not affect the terms of office of incumbent party committee memberselected from districts as constituted at the time of their election.