SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 1628

100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE GRAY.

3981H.01I

6

9

10

11

12

13

15

17

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To repeal section 235.140, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to street light maintenance districts.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 235.140, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 235.140, to read as follows:

235.140. 1. At the general **municipal** election in the year after the first full calendar year after the organization of any district and at [the] every other general municipal election thereafter, there shall be elected by the voters of the district one member of the board to serve for a term of six years. Nominations may be filed, as provided by law, with the secretary of the board, or the board may provide for nominations to be filed with the election authority in which the district is located.

- 7 2. The candidates for board member shall be elected on a separate nonpartisan ballot. The candidate receiving the most votes shall be elected. Any new member of the board shall qualify in the same manner as members of the first board qualify.
- 3. At the first general municipal election to occur after August 28, 2020, an election for the seat of any board member who was elected to a six-year term in 2014, or who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of a member elected to a six-year term in 2014, shall be held. At the third general municipal election to occur after August 28, 2020, an election for the seat of any board member who was elected to a six-year term in 2016, or who was 14 appointed to fill the unexpired term of a member elected to a six-year term in 2016, shall 16 be held. At the fifth general municipal election to occur after August 28, 2020, an election for the seat of any board member who was elected to a six-year term in 2018, or who was

HB 1628 2

18 appointed to fill the unexpired term of a member elected to a six-year term in 2018, shall

19 **be held.**

✓