FIRST REGULAR SESSION

[TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED]

HOUSE BILL NO. 125

98TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

0544H.01T 2015

AN ACT

To repeal section 349.045, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to industrial development corporation directors.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 349.045, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 349.045, to read as follows:

349.045. 1. Except as provided in subsection 2 of this section, the corporation shall have a board of directors in which all the powers of the corporation shall be vested and which shall consist of any number of directors, not less than five, all of whom shall be duly qualified electors of and taxpayers in the county or municipality; except that, for any industrial development corporation formed by any municipality located wholly within any county of the second, third, or fourth classification or any county of the first classification with more than sixty-five thousand but fewer than seventy-five thousand inhabitants, directors may be qualified taxpayers in and registered voters of such county. The directors shall serve as such without compensation except that they shall be reimbursed for their actual expenses incurred in and about the performance of their duties hereunder. The directors shall be resident taxpayers for at least 10 11 one year immediately prior to their appointment. No director shall be an officer or employee of the county or municipality. All directors shall be appointed by the chief executive officer of the county or municipality with the advice and consent of a majority of the governing body of the 13 14 county or municipality, and in all counties, other than a city not within a county and counties 15 with a charter form of government, the appointments shall be made by the county commission and they shall be so appointed that they shall hold office for staggered terms. At the time of the 16 appointment of the first board of directors the governing body of the municipality or county shall 17

HB 125 2

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

2627

28

29

30

32

33

34

35

36

37

38 39

40

41

42 43

44

divide the directors into three groups containing as nearly equal whole numbers as may be possible. The first term of the directors included in the first group shall be two years, the first term of the directors included in the second group shall be four years, the first term of the directors in the third group shall be six years; provided, that if at the expiration of any term of office of any director a successor thereto shall not have been appointed, then the director whose term of office shall have expired shall continue to hold office until a successor shall be appointed by the chief executive officer of the county or municipality with the advice and consent of a majority of the governing body of the county or municipality. The successors shall be resident taxpayers for at least one year immediately prior to their appointment.

2. A corporation in a county of the third classification without a township form of government and with more than ten thousand four hundred but fewer than ten thousand five hundred inhabitants shall have a board of directors in which all the powers of the corporation shall be vested and which shall consist of a number of directors not less than the number of townships in such county. All directors shall be duly qualified electors of and taxpayers in the county. Each township within the county shall elect one director to the board. Additional directors may be elected to the board to succeed directors appointed to the board as of the effective date of this section if the number of directors on the effective date of this section exceeds the number of townships in the county. The directors shall serve as such without compensation except that they shall be reimbursed for their actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. The directors shall be resident taxpayers for at least one year immediately prior to their election. No director shall be an officer or employee of the county. Upon the expiration of the term of office of any director appointed to the board prior to the effective date of this section, a director shall be elected to succeed him or her; provided that if at the expiration of any term of office of any director a successor thereto shall not have been elected, then the director whose term of office shall have expired shall continue to hold office until a successor shall be elected. The successors shall be resident taxpayers for at least one year immediately prior to their election.

/