FIRST REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE BILL NO. 1201

100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE PIERSON JR.

2153H.01I

2

6

9

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

AN ACT

To amend chapter 261, RSMo, by adding thereto one new section relating to the Missouri food security task force.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Chapter 261, RSMo, is amended by adding thereto one new section, to be known as section 261.450, to read as follows:

261.450. 1. There is hereby established the "Missouri Food Security Task Force".

- 2. The task force shall be comprised of the following members:
- 3 (1) Four members of the house of representatives, with two members to be 4 appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and two members to be appointed 5 by the minority floor leader of the house of representatives;
 - (2) Four members of the senate, with two members to be appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate and two members to be appointed by the minority floor leader of the senate;
 - (3) The director of the department of agriculture, or the director's designee;
- 10 (4) The director of the department of economic development, or the director's designee;
- 12 (5) The director of the department of health and senior services, or the director's designee;
- 14 (6) One registered dietician, appointed by the Missouri Academy of Nutrition and 15 Dietetics;
- 16 (7) Three representatives from Missouri Farmers Care, appointed by Missouri 17 Farmers Care;

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

HB 1201 2

2.1

2223

24

25

28

29

30 31

32

33

3435

36

37

38

39

40

41 42

43

44

45

46

51

18 **(8)** Two representatives from institutions of higher education located in Missouri, 19 with one representative appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one 20 representative appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate; and

- (9) Five members, to be appointed by the director of the department of agriculture, as follows:
 - (a) One representative from a food bank located in Missouri;
 - (b) One representative of a business specializing in retail or direct food sales;
 - (c) One representative from a farmers market management organization; and
- 26 (d) Two local food producers, with one representing an urban area and one representing a rural area.
 - 3. The director of the department of agriculture shall ensure that the membership of the task force reflects the diversity of the state, with members on the task force representing urban and rural areas and various geographic regions of the state.
 - 4. The department of agriculture shall provide technical and administrative support as required by the task force to fulfill its duties.
 - 5. Members of the task force shall serve without compensation but shall receive reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred in attending meetings of the task force or any subcommittee thereof.
 - 6. The task force shall hold its first meeting within two months of the effective date of this section and organize by selecting a chair and a vice chair.
 - 7. The mission of the task force shall be to:
 - (1) Determine the ability of individuals located in urban and rural areas throughout the state to access healthy food and identify populations and areas in which access to food is limited or uncertain;
 - (2) Identify ways in which the state could connect resources and individuals in an effort to ensure food security for all Missourians;
 - (3) Evaluate the impact of tax increment financing projects and restrictive deed covenants imposed by grocery retailers on creating food deserts or prolonging existing food deserts; and
- 47 (4) Evaluate the potential impacts of online food retail on food insecurity 48 throughout the state.
- 8. The task force shall report a summary of its activities and any recommendations for legislation to the general assembly before August 28, 2020.
 - 9. The task force shall terminate on January 1, 2021.

/