This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.1

1.2

State of Minnesota

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A bill for an act

relating to courts; increasing the number of trial court judgeships in the fifth district;

NINETY-FIRST SESSION

н. г. №. 4314

03/09/2020 Authored by Brand, Considine, Gunther and Hamilton
The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Division

| 1.3 1.4 | appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 2.722, subdivision 1. |
|------------|---|
| 1.5 | BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: |
| 1.6 | Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 2.722, subdivision 1, is amended |
| 1.7 | to read: |
| 1.8 | Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial |
| 1.9 | districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts |
| 1.10 | judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified: |
| 1.11 | 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 36 judges; and four |
| 1.12 | permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe |
| 1.13 | and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district; |
| 1.14 | 2. Ramsey; 26 judges; |
| 1.15 | 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, |
| 1.16 | and Fillmore; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert |
| 1.17 | Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona; |
| 1.18 | 4. Hennepin; 60 judges; |
| 1.19 | 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, |
| 1.20 | Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 16 17 judges; and |
| 1.21 | permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and |
| | |

Section 1.

Mankato;

1.22

| 00/04/00 | DELUCOD | T7T T /O A | 20 5005 |
|--------------|---------|------------|-----------|
| 112/11/1/211 | DEVISOR | V I I /S A | 2007/2007 |
| 03/04/20 | REVISOR | KLL/SA | 20-7807 |

- 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;
- 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and
- Wadena; 30 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus
- 2.4 Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;
- 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big
- Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers
- shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;
- 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin,
- 2.9 Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and
- 2.10 Koochiching; 24 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief
- 2.11 River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and
- 2.12 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 45
- 2.13 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places
- 2.14 designated by the chief judge of the district.
- 2.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2020.

2.16 Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION.

- \$..... is appropriated from the general fund in fiscal year 2021 to the Fifth District Court
- for the judge unit authorized in section 1. The judge unit consists of a judge, law clerk, and
- 2.19 court reporter. This appropriation is available until expended and is added to the base.

Sec. 2. 2