This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

REVISOR

State of Minnesota

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES н. **F.** No. 3448

NINETY-THIRD SESSION

02/12/2024

Authored by Hassan and Xiong The bill was referred to the Committee on Economic Development Finance and Policy

1.1	A bill for an act
1.2 1.3 1.4	relating to economic development; modifying the membership of the energy transition advisory committee; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116J.5492, subdivision 2.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116J.5492, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.7	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory committee consists of 18 voting members and
1.8	eight ex officio nonvoting members.
1.9	(b) The voting members of the advisory committee are appointed by the commissioner
1.10	of employment and economic development, except as specified below:
1.11	(1) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader of the senate and
1.12	one appointed by the minority leader of the senate;
1.13	(2) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
1.14	house of representatives and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of
1.15	representatives;
1.16	(3) one representative of the Prairie Island Indian community;
1.17	(4) four representatives of impacted communities, of which two must represent counties
1.18	and two must represent municipalities, and, to the extent possible, of the impacted facilities
1.19	in those communities, at least one must be a coal plant, at least one must be a nuclear plant,
1.20	and at least one must be a natural gas plant;
1.21	(5) three representatives of impacted workers at impacted facilities;

1

	11/22/23	REVISOR	EB/LN	24-05432
2.1 2.2	(6) one representative of impacted regularly perform construction, main			
		-	-	·
2.3 2.4	(7) one representative with profese experience;	ssional economic dev	velopment or workto	orce retraining
2.5	(8) two representatives of utilities	s that operate an imp	pacted facility;	
2.6	(9) one representative from a nor	profit organization	with expertise and ex	xperience
2.7	delivering energy efficiency and con	servation programs;	and	
2.8	(10) one representative of a school	ol district facing revo	enue loss due to ener	gy transition;
2.9	and			
2.10	(10) (11) one representative from	the Coalition of Ut	ility Cities.	
2.11	(c) The ex officio nonvoting men	nbers of the advisory	y committee consist	of:
2.12	(1) the governor or the governor'	s designee;		
2.13	(2) the commissioner of employn	nent and economic d	evelopment or the co	ommissioner's
2.14	designee;			
2.15	(3) the commissioner of commer	ce or the commissio	ner's designee;	
2.16	(4) the commissioner of labor and	d industry or the cor	nmissioner's designe	ee;
2.17	(5) the commissioner of revenue	or the commissioner	r's designee;	
2.18	(6) the executive secretary of the I	Public Utilities Comr	nission or the secreta	ry's designee;
2.19	(7) the commissioner of the Pollu	ution Control Agenc	y or the commission	er's designee;
2.20	and			
2.21	(8) the chancellor of the Minneso	ota State Colleges an	d Universities or the	e chancellor's

2.22 designee.