This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

## State of Minnesota

Printed Page No.

263

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
H. F. No.

02/26/2018 Authored by Metsa, Ecklund and Sandstede

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Government Operations and Elections Policy

 $03/21/2018 \qquad \text{Adoption of Report: Placed on the General Register as Amended}$ 

Read for the Second Time

1.1 A bill for an act

relating to port authorities; modifying membership of the Seaway Port Authority of Duluth; amending Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 469.050, subdivision 2.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 469.050, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Duluth.** The Seaway Port Authority of Duluth consists of seven commissioners: three appointed by the Duluth city council; two by the St. Louis County board, at least one of whom is a St. Louis County board member representing an area that includes, as of 2015, an active mine or active mining area; and two by the governor.

A member of the St. Louis County delegation of the state house of representatives appointed by that delegation, and a member of the St. Louis County delegation of the state senate appointed by that delegation are advisory members of the authority.

Authority board and the St. Louis County board and their chief clerical officers timely comply with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021, subdivisions 2 and 3, and applies to the appointment made by the St. Louis County board for the port authority commissioner whose term begins January 1, 2022, or to fill a vacancy in one of the positions appointed by the St. Louis County board, if the vacancy occurs before January 1, 2022.

Section 1.