This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

REVISOR

17-4259

## State of Minnesota

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES H. F. No. 2455 NINETIETH SESSION

03/20/2017

Authored by Garofalo The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Job Growth and Energy Affordability Policy and Finance

1.1	A bill for an act
1.2 1.3	relating to the Public Utilities Commission; providing for legislative appointments to the Public Utilities Commission; amending Minnesota Statutes 2016, section
1.5	216A.03, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 216A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.7	Subdivision 1. Members. (a) The Public Utilities Commission shall consist consists of
1.8	five members. The terms of members shall be six years and until their successors have been
1.9	appointed and qualified. Each commissioner shall be appointed by the governor by and with
1.10	the advice and consent of the senate. Not more than three commissioners shall belong to
1.11	the same political party. At least one commissioner must have been domiciled at the time
1.12	of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area. If the membership of the
1.13	commission after July 31, 1986, does not consist of at least one member domiciled at the
1.14	time of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area, the membership shall
1.15	conform to this requirement following normal attrition of the present commissioners. The
1.16	governor When selecting commissioners, the appointing authorities under paragraph (c)
1.17	shall give consideration to persons learned in the law or persons who have engaged in the
1.18	profession of engineering, public accounting, property and utility valuation, finance, physical
1.19	or natural sciences, production agriculture, or natural resources as well as being representative
1.20	of the general public.
1.21	(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "seven-county metropolitan area" means Anoka,
1.22	Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties.

(c) The legislature and the governor shall appoint members of the commission as follows: 1.23

1

	03/16/17	REVISOR	RSI/HR	17-4259	
2.1	(1) the speaker of the house shall appeared appe	point one member;			
2.2	(2) the leader of the majority caucus	in the senate shall ap	point one member;		
2.3 2.4	(3) the leader of the minority caucus member;	in the house of repres	sentatives shall appo	oint one	
2.5	(4) the leader of the minority caucus	in the senate shall ap	point one member;	and	
2.6	(5) the governor shall appoint one m	ember.			
2.7	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.				
2.8 2.9	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section read:	on 216A.03, is amende	ed by adding a subd	ivision to	
2.10	Subd. 1b. Transition. (a) This subdi	vision governs the me	mbership of the cor	mmission	
2.11	between July 1, 2017, and July 1, 2019.				
2.12	(b) On or before July 1, 2017, the lea	aders of the senate ma	jority and minority	caucuses	
2.13	shall each appoint one commissioner to	serve a term ending J	uly 1, 2023, to repla	ace	
2.14	commissioners whose terms expire in 2	022 and 2023.			
2.15	(c) On or before February 1, 2019, the second secon	ne governor shall appo	oint a commissioner	r to serve	
2.16	a term ending July 1, 2025, to replace a	commissioner whose	term ends in 2021.		
2.17	(d) On or before July 1, 2019, the lea	aders of the house of 1	epresentatives majo	ority and	
2.18	minority caucuses shall each appoint one	e commissioner to serv	e a term ending July	y 1, 2025,	
2.19	to replace commissioners whose terms e	expire in 2019 and 202	<u>20.</u>		
2.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section i	s effective the day fol	lowing final enactm	nent.	