Bill Text: MI HB4854 | 2021-2022 | 101st Legislature | Introduced


Bill Title: Children: protection; distribution of training package to individuals designated as mandatory reporters for child abuse or child neglect; require. Amends 1975 PA 238 (MCL 722.621 - 722.638) by adding sec. 3b.

Spectrum: Moderate Partisan Bill (Democrat 26-7)

Status: (Engrossed) 2021-11-30 - Reassigned To Committee On Judiciary And Public Safety [HB4854 Detail]

Download: Michigan-2021-HB4854-Introduced.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HOUSE BILL NO. 4854

May 18, 2021, Introduced by Reps. Rogers, Cambensy, Hood, Kuppa, Bezotte, Thanedar, O'Neal, Brenda Carter, Cynthia Johnson, Pohutsky, Tyrone Carter, Peterson, Liberati, Damoose, Stone, Ellison, Glenn, Puri, Aiyash, Sabo, Yaroch, Manoogian, Farrington, Brixie, Whitsett, Scott, Anthony, LaGrand, Bolden, Calley, Young, Rendon and Jones and referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

A bill to amend 1975 PA 238, entitled

"Child protection law,"

(MCL 722.621 to 722.638) by adding section 3b.

the people of the state of michigan enact:

Sec. 3b. (1) The department shall, in consultation with the Michigan domestic and sexual violence prevention and treatment board and the Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence, create comprehensive training materials for individuals who are required to report suspected child abuse or child neglect under section 3 within 180 days after the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section.

(2) An employer or organization that employs a mandatory reporter must provide the training materials described in subsection (1) to that employee. This subsection does not apply to an employer or organization that provides its own training to an employee that is similar in substance to the training described in subsection (1).

(3) The department must make the training materials described in subsection (1) publicly available on its website in addition to any other form that the department chooses.

Enacting section 1. This amendatory act takes effect 90 days after the date it is enacted into law.

feedback