APPROVEDCHAPTERMARCH 16, 2022506BY GOVERNORPUBLIC LAW

## **STATE OF MAINE**

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

### TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-TWO

# S.P. 649 - L.D. 1832

### An Act To Correct the Year of the Expiration of the Terms of 2 County Commissioners in Sagadahoc County

**Emergency preamble.** Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

**Whereas,** Public Law 2021, chapter 488 enacted the plan for reapportionment of the county commissioner districts as proposed by the apportionment commission; and

Whereas, the plan erroneously reversed the year of the expiration of the terms of the county commissioners of Commissioner District 2 and Commissioner District 3 in Sagadahoc County; and

Whereas, since one of the terms expires in 2022, this error needs to be corrected as soon as possible; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

#### Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66-C is enacted to read:

#### §66-C. Creation of Sagadahoc County Commissioner Districts

Sagadahoc County is divided into the following 3 districts.

<u>1. Commissioner District Number 1.</u> Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the minor civil divisions of Bowdoin and Topsham. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter.

**2.** Commissioner District Number 2. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the minor civil divisions of Bath and Bowdoinham. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2022 and every 4 years thereafter.

3. Commissioner District Number 3. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Arrowsic, Georgetown, Perkins

Township, Phippsburg, Richmond, West Bath and Woolwich. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter.

**Emergency clause.** In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.