STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD TWO THOUSAND AND FOURTEEN

H.P. 1258 - L.D. 1753

An Act To Redistrict the Knox County Budget Committee Districts

Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, current law requires the county commissioners of Knox County to prepare a redistricting plan for county budget committee seats; and

Whereas, this plan must be implemented by the primary election, which may occur before the expiration of the 90-day period; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §757, sub-§1, as repealed and replaced by PL 1993, c. 565, §1, is amended to read:
- 1. Redistricting process. The county commissioners shall prepare a redistricting plan for county budget committee seats by June 1, 1993 2021 and every 10 years thereafter. The county commissioners shall submit the plan to the Secretary of State within 5 days of adoption. The Secretary of State shall immediately transmit the redistricting plan to the Legislature for review and enactment.
- **Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §757, sub-§2,** as repealed and replaced by PL 1993, c. 565, §1, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:
- <u>2. Budget committee districts.</u> Budget committee members must be elected from districts as provided in this subsection.

- A. District 1 consists of Isle au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, North Haven, St. George and Friendship and elects one member. The initial term for District 1 expires on December 31, 2016.
- B. District 2 consists of South Thomaston, Vinalhaven and Owls Head and elects one member. The initial term for District 2 expires on December 31, 2014.
- C. District 3 consists of Rockland and elects 2 members at large. The initial term for District 3 expires on December 31, 2016.
- <u>D. District 4 consists of Camden and elects one member. The initial term for District 4 expires on December 31, 2014.</u>
- E. District 5 consists of Rockport and Hope and elects one member. The initial term for District 5 expires on December 31, 2016.
- F. District 6 consists of Appleton, Union and Washington and elects one member. The initial term for District 6 expires on December 31, 2014.
- <u>G. District 7 consists of Warren and elects one member. The initial term for District 7 expires on December 31, 2016.</u>
- H. District 8 consists of Thomaston and Cushing and elects one member. The initial term for District 8 expires on December 31, 2014.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.