## **STATE OF MAINE**

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

## TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-FOUR

## JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING MARCH 8, 2024 AS INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY

WHEREAS, International Women's Day has been celebrated since 1911; and

**WHEREAS,** Maine women have contributed greatly to the State's, the country's and the world's history; and

WHEREAS, those Maine women include Frances Perkins, the first woman appointed to the United States Cabinet; Margaret Chase Smith, the first woman to serve in both the United States House of Representatives and the United States Senate; Olympia Snowe, the first woman to serve in both chambers at both the state and federal levels; Edna St. Vincent Millay, a Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; Cornelia "Fly Rod" Crosby, the first registered Maine guide; Samantha Smith, an international peace advocate; Gail Laughlin, the first woman in Maine to practice law; Dorothea Dix, a nurse and advocate for the mentally ill; Frannie Peabody, an HIV/AIDS activist; Judith Isaacson, a Holocaust survivor and educator; Mary Low, one of the first American women to receive a Bachelor of Arts degree; Elizabeth Russell, a groundbreaking geneticist; Florence Whitehouse, a suffragist, activist and novelist; Rachel Talbot Ross, the first African American woman to serve as Speaker of the Maine House of Representatives; Valerie Stanfill, currently serving as Chief Justice of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court; and Janet T. Mills, the first woman in Maine to serve as Attorney General of Maine and the first woman to serve as Governor of Maine; and

**WHEREAS**, according to the Center for American Women and Politics, in 2024 a record 32.8% of the 7,386 seats in the 99 state legislative chambers in the United States are currently held by women, including 43.5% of the seats in the Maine Legislature; and

**WHEREAS,** Maine is one of 26 states with a woman serving as a presiding officer of its Legislature; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That We, the Members of the One Hundred and Thirty-first Legislature now assembled in the Second Regular Session, on behalf of the people we represent, take this opportunity to recognize the contributions of Maine women throughout our history, the ongoing march toward gender equality, both in Maine and around the world, and the designation of March 8, 2024 as International Women's Day.