STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD TWO THOUSAND NINETEEN

JOINT RESOLUTION MEMORIALIZING THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS TO SUPPORT FEDERAL EMPLOYEES IN MAINE AFFECTED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SHUTDOWN AND TO TAKE IMMEDIATE CONGRESSIONAL ACTION

WE, your Memorialists, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Legislature of the State of Maine now assembled in the First Regular Session, most respectfully present and petition the United States Congress as follows:

WHEREAS, the longest partial shutdown in the history of the United States government began on December 22, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the federal government shutdown is affecting approximately 800,000 federal employees; and

WHEREAS, in Maine the workers currently affected are employees of the Department of Homeland Security, which includes airport screening personnel and members of the United States Coast Guard, and employees of Acadia National Park; and

WHEREAS, those federal workers who have not been furloughed are obliged to work without pay; and

WHEREAS, the federal government shutdown is also having an effect on other industries in Maine, such as tourism, and small businesses that depend upon federal regulation and loan processing; and

WHEREAS, as the federal government shutdown continues, there is potential for many social and housing services in the State to be negatively affected; and

WHEREAS, it is important for the economic health of the State that the federal government shutdown cease as quickly as possible; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That We, your Memorialists, on behalf of the people we represent, take this opportunity to respectfully request that the United States Congress take immediate steps to reach a compromise and end the partial shutdown of the Federal Government and restore financial security to the lives of citizens; and be it further

RESOLVED: That suitable copies of this resolution, duly authenticated by the Secretary of State, be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives and each Member of the Maine Congressional Delegation.