HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 6

F29lr1571

By: Delegates Hornberger and Boteler

25

Introduced and read first time: February 8, 2019 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

	HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION
1	A House Joint Resolution concerning
2 3	Higher Education – Publishers of Academic Publications – cOAlition S and Plan S
4 5 6 7	FOR the purpose of encouraging each Maryland publisher of an academic publication of research funded by public grants, including institutions of higher education, to join cOAlition S and implement Plan S by a certain year; and generally relating to open access to academic publications.
8 9	WHEREAS, A society cannot lift itself up unless access to knowledge is free and unfettered; and
10 11 12	WHEREAS, Locking knowledge behind paywalls, inaccessible to those who would benefit the most from furthering their own educational endeavors, is inexcusable in a free and open society; and
13 14	WHEREAS, The advancement and diffusion of knowledge is the only guardian of true liberty; and
15 16 17	WHEREAS, cOAlition S is an international group of academic publishers committed to providing full and immediate open access to publications from publicly funded research institutions; and
18 19 20	WHEREAS, Plan S is an initiative organized for the purpose of having research funded by public grants be published in open access journals or platforms from the year 2020 onwards; now, therefore, be it
21 22 23 24	RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That each publisher of an academic publication of research funded by public grants, including institutions of higher education in Maryland, is encouraged to join cOAlition S and commit to fully implementing Plan S by the year 2024; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of



2

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 6

- 1 Legislative Services to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor of Maryland; the
- 2 Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the
- 3 Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.