## **HOUSE BILL 148**

P1 3lr0942

By: Delegates McConkey, Costa, Hubbard, Ivey, Nathan-Pulliam, Oaks, Pena-Melnyk, Sophocleus, and V. Turner V. Turner, Hammen, Pendergrass, Bromwell, Cullison, Elliott, Frank, Kach, A. Kelly, Kipke, Krebs, McDonough, Morhaim, Murphy, Ready, Reznik, and Tarrant

Introduced and read first time: January 17, 2013 Assigned to: Health and Government Operations

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments

House action: Adopted

Read second time: March 6, 2013

CHAPTER \_\_\_\_\_

- 1 AN ACT concerning
- 2 State Government Refund of Fees Policy
- 3 FOR the purpose of stating the policy of the State regarding the refund of fees paid to
- 4 a unit; defining a certain term; and generally relating to the policy of the State
- 5 regarding the refund of fees.
- 6 BY adding to
- 7 Article State Government
- 8 Section 1–102
- 9 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 10 (2009 Replacement Volume and 2012 Supplement)
- 11 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
- 12 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 13 Article State Government
- 14 **1–102.**
- 15 (A) (1) IN THIS SECTION, "UNIT" MEANS A DEPARTMENT, AGENCY,
- 16 BOARD, OFFICE, COMMISSION, OR OTHER BODY IN STATE GOVERNMENT THAT:

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

1	(I) IS CREATED UNDER STATE LAW; AND
2 3	(II) IS AUTHORIZED TO CHARGE A PERSON A FEE FOR A LICENSE, PERMIT, OR OTHER SERVICE.
4 5	(2) "Unit" includes the sheriff of each county and the sheriff's deputies.
6 7	(B) IT IS THE POLICY OF THE STATE THAT A UNIT, TO THE EXTENT PRACTICABLE, SHALL REFUND A FEE PAID BY A PERSON IF:
8	(1) THE PERSON PAID THE FEE IN ERROR; OR
9 10	$rac{(2)}{}$ THE UNIT FAILED TO PROVIDE AS REQUIRED THE SERVICE FOR WHICH THE FEE WAS PAID.
11 12	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2013.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.