The Commonwealth of Alassachusetts

In the One Hundred and Ninety-First General Court (2019-2020)

SENATE, February 5, 2020.

The committee on Election Laws, to whom was referred the petitions (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 382) of Michael J. Barrett and Carmine Lawrence Gentile for legislation relative to early voting in municipal elections; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 383) of Michael J. Barrett, Joanne M. Comerford, Lindsay N. Sabadosa, Thomas M. Stanley and other members of the General Court for legislation to restore financial transparency in presidential elections; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 384) of Michael J. Barrett for legislation to increase voter participation; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 385) of Joseph A. Boncore, Martin J. Walsh, Mayor of Boston, Daniel J. Hunt, Liz Miranda and other members of the General Court for legislation to allow election day registration; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 387) of Harriette L. Chandler, John J. Mahoney, David Paul Linsky, Rebecca L. Rausch and other members of the General Court for legislation relative to early voting in the 2020 presidential primary; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 388) of Harriette L. Chandler, Andres X. Vargas, James B. Eldridge, Bradley H. Jones, Jr. and other members of the General Court for legislation relative to post-election audits; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 390) of Harriette L. Chandler, Elizabeth A. Malia, Andres X. Vargas, Jack Patrick Lewis and other members of the General Court for legislation to extend early voting for all elections; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 391) of Sonia Chang-Diaz, Sal N. DiDomenico and James B. Eldridge for legislation relative to the central registry of voters; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 392) of Sonia Chang-Diaz, Jason M. Lewis, Adam G. Hinds, Patricia D. Jehlen and other members of the General Court for legislation to increase voter registration, participation, and to help prevent recidivism; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 393) of Joanne M. Comerford, Mindy Domb and Paul R. Feeney for legislation to limit political spending by foreign-influenced corporations; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 394) of Joanne M. Comerford and Mindy Domb for legislation relative to political campaign contributions; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 395) of Cynthia Stone Creem for legislation to improve knowledge about voting rights; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 397) of Cynthia Stone Creem, David M. Rogers, Mike Connolly, Daniel M. Donahue and other members of the General Court for legislation relative to early voting privacy and expansion; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 398) of Cynthia Stone Creem for legislation

relative to candidate reporting requirements; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 400) of James B. Eldridge, Denise Provost and Mary S. Keefe for legislation relative to fair elections; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 401) of James B. Eldridge, Denise Provost, Rebecca L. Rausch, Mike Connolly and others for legislation relative to corporations, shareholders, and political expenditures; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 402) of Ryan C. Fattman, Donald F. Humason, Jr., Joseph D. McKenna, Bradley H. Jones, Jr. and others for legislation relative to contribution fairness; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 403) of Paul R. Feeney, Michael O. Moore and James K. Hawkins for legislation to protect the integrity of town meetings; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 405) of Adam G. Hinds, Jack Patrick Lewis, Tami L. Gouveia, Jason M. Lewis and other members of the General Court for legislation relative to voting rights; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 406) of Adam G. Hinds, Mindy Domb, Julian Cyr, Sal N. DiDomenico and others for legislation to promote access to democracy in Massachusetts: (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 407) of Kirstin Beatty for legislation to allow delivery of ballot question petitions to the Secretary of State by registrars and restricting payments per signature; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 409) of Robin Chen for legislation to lower the voting age for state and local elections with guardian consent; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 410) of Gene John Cass for legislation relative to town committee elections and membership; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 411) of Vincent Lawrence Dixon for legislation for political party endorsement reform; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 412) of Vincent Lawrence Dixon for legislation for Primary Election Reform; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 413) of Vincent Lawrence Dixon for legislation for parity in all organizational and non-individual campaign contributions; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 415) of Jason M. Lewis, Jonathan Hecht, Bradley H. Jones, Jr., Sonia Chang-Diaz and other members of the General Court for legislation to create a citizens' initiative review commission; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 416) of Joan B. Lovely for legislation relative to election ballots; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 417) of Joan B. Lovely for legislation relative to early voting and absent voting; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 418) of Mark C. Montigny, Joanne M. Comerford, Rebecca L. Rausch, Jack Patrick Lewis and other members of the General Court for legislation to limit political spending by foreign-influenced corporations; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 419) of Rebecca L. Rausch, Maria Duaime Robinson, Joanne M. Comerford and David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf for legislation to promote good democracy in primary elections; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 420) of Rebecca L. Rausch, Jason M. Lewis, Carmine Lawrence Gentile, Tami L. Gouveia and other members of the General Court for legislation to provide a local option for ranked choice voting in municipal elections; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 421) of Rebecca L. Rausch for legislation to modernize the central registry of voters; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 422) of Rebecca L. Rausch, Carmine Lawrence Gentile, Barry R. Finegold, Maria Duaime Robinson and others for legislation to ensure a complete, accurate, and equitable census count; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 423) of Rebecca L. Rausch, Carmine Lawrence Gentile and Mindy Domb for legislation to expand voter access; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 424) of Bruce E. Tarr, Donald F. Humason, Jr. and David Allen Robertson for legislation relative to campaign

contribution cycles; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 425) of Bruce E. Tarr for legislation relative to ballot modernization; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 426) of Daniel S. Sarno for legislation relative to early voting ballots; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 427) of Bruce E. Tarr and David F. DeCoste for legislation to fairly fund early voting; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 428) of Dean A. Tran and Donald F. Humason, Jr. for legislation to promote voter engagement; (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 2290) of Walter F. Timilty, Michael D. Brady, Michelle M. DuBois and Alyson M. Sullivan (by vote of the town) for legislation to provide for recall elections in the town of East Bridgewater; and (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 2291) of Joanne M. Comerford (by vote of the town) for legislation to grant noncitizen permanent residents in the town of Warwick the right to vote in municipal elections, report the accompanying Order (Senate, No.).

For the committee, Barry R. Finegold

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the One Hundred and Ninety-First General Court (2019-2020)

1	Ordered, That the committee on Election Laws be authorized and directed to make an
2	investigation and study of certain current Senate documents numbered 382, 383, 384, 385, 387,
3	388, 390, 391, 392, 393, 394, 395, 397, 398, 400, 401, 402, 403, 405, 406, 407, 409, 410, 411,
4	412, 413, 415, 416, 417, 418, 419, 420, 421, 422, 423, 424, 425, 426, 427, 428, 2290 and 2291
5	relative to Election Laws.