#### 

# The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

#### PRESENTED BY:

## Ruth B. Balser and Byron Rushing

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying bill:

An Act renaming the Yawkey commuter rail station on the Worcester-Framingham line.

## PETITION OF:

NAME:	DISTRICT/ADDRESS:
Ruth B. Balser	12th Middlesex
Byron Rushing	9th Suffolk
William N. Brownsberger	Second Suffolk and Middlesex
Cynthia S. Creem	First Middlesex and Norfolk
Kay Khan	11th Middlesex
Jack Lewis	7th Middlesex
Natalie Higgins	4th Worcester
Jason M. Lewis	Fifth Middlesex
Russell E. Holmes	6th Suffolk
Evandro C. Carvalho	5th Suffolk
Thomas M. Stanley	9th Middlesex
Frank I. Smizik	15th Norfolk
Denise Provost	27th Middlesex
Frank A. Moran	17th Essex
Lori A. Ehrlich	8th Essex
Jay D. Livingstone	8th Suffolk
Bud Williams	11th Hampden
Sonia Chang-Diaz	Second Suffolk

#### HOUSE DOCKET, NO. 4114 FILED ON: 7/6/2017

### 

By Representatives Balser of Newton and Rushing of Boston, a petition (subject to Joint Rule 12) of Ruth B. Balser, Byron Rushing and others for an investigation by a special commission (including members of the General Court) relative to renaming the Yawkey commuter rail station. Transportation.

# The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the One Hundred and Ninetieth General Court (2017-2018)

An Act renaming the Yawkey commuter rail station on the Worcester-Framingham line.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

SECTION 1. Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, the
 Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority shall eliminate the designation Yawkey from the

3 Yawkey commuter rail station on the Worcester–Framingham line.

4 SECTION 2. (a) There shall be a special commission to study and make

5 recommendations to the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority regarding a new name for

6 the Yawkey commuter rail station on the Worcester–Framingham line that is consistent with and

7 reflects the values of the commonwealth. The commission shall consist of the following

8 members or their designees: the Secretary of Transportation, or her designee, who will serve as

9 the Commission's chairperson; 2 members appointed by the Speaker of the House; 2 members

- 10 appointed by the Senate President; the house and senate chairs of the joint committee on
- 11 transportation; 1 member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives; 1
- 12 member appointed by the minority leader of the senate; and 3 members appointed by the

governor: 1 of whom shall be an expert in the history of the commonwealth with a particular
expertise in racial justice; 1 of whom shall be a member of the community of the Fenway section
of the city of Boston; and 1 of whom shall be an expert in the history of sports; the Owner of the
Red Sox Organization or his designee; the President of the Boston Chapter of the National
Association for the Advancement of Colored People, or her designee; the President of the Boston
Landmarks Commission, or her designee.

(b) The commission may hold public meetings and fact-finding hearings as it considers necessary; provided, that the commission shall consider: (1) the commonwealth's values of equal rights and social and economic justice and (2) individuals, communities, and organizations which advocate for said values. The commission shall file its report and recommendations with the clerks of the house of representatives and the senate and the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority not later than July 1, 2018.