## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

PRESENTED BY:

#### Robert A. DeLeo

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying order

#### PETITION OF:

NAME:	DISTRICT/ADDRESS:
Robert A. DeLeo	19th Suffolk
Brian M. Ashe	2nd Hampden
Cory Atkins	14th Middlesex
Ruth B. Balser	12th Middlesex
Jennifer E. Benson	37th Middlesex
Donald R. Berthiaume, Jr.	5th Worcester
Paul Brodeur	32nd Middlesex
Daniel Cahill	10th Essex
Thomas J. Calter	12th Plymouth
Linda Dean Campbell	15th Essex
James M. Cantwell	4th Plymouth
Evandro C. Carvalho	5th Suffolk
Tackey Chan	2nd Norfolk
Nick Collins	4th Suffolk
Mike Connolly	26th Middlesex
Brendan P. Crighton	11th Essex
Claire D. Cronin	11th Plymouth
Michael S. Day	31st Middlesex

Angelo L. D'Emilia	8th Plymouth
Brian S. Dempsey	3rd Essex
Diana DiZoglio	14th Essex
Paul J. Donato	35th Middlesex
Shawn Dooley	9th Norfolk
Michelle M. DuBois	10th Plymouth
James J. Dwyer	30th Middlesex
Carolyn C. Dykema	8th Middlesex
Kimberly N. Ferguson	1st Worcester
Ann-Margaret Ferrante	5th Essex
Carole A. Fiola	6th Bristol
Paul K. Frost	7th Worcester
William C. Galvin	6th Norfolk
Sean Garballey	23rd Middlesex
Denise C. Garlick	13th Norfolk
Colleen M. Garry	36th Middlesex
Carmine L. Gentile	13th Middlesex
Susan Williams Gifford	2nd Plymouth
Solomon Goldstein-Rose	3rd Hampshire
Carlos Gonzalez	10th Hampden
Kenneth I. Gordon	21st Middlesex
Danielle W. Gregoire	4th Middlesex
Patricia A. Haddad	5th Bristol
Stephan Hay	3rd Worcester
Natalie Higgins	4th Worcester
Kate Hogan	3rd Middlesex
Kevin G. Honan	17th Suffolk
Randy Hunt	5th Barnstable
Bradley H. Jones, Jr.	20th Middlesex
Louis L. Kafka	8th Norfolk
Hannah Kane	11th Worcester
Jay R. Kaufman	15th Middlesex
James M. Kelcourse	1st Essex
Kay Khan	11th Middlesex
Peter V. Kocot	1st Hampshire
Robert M. Koczera	11th Bristol
Jack Lewis	7th Middlesex
David Paul Linsky	5th Middlesex
Jay D. Livingstone	8th Suffolk

Marc T. Lombardo	22nd Middlesex
Adrian Madaro	1st Suffolk
John J. Mahoney	13th Worcester
Elizabeth A. Malia	11th Suffolk
Paul W. Mark	2nd Berkshire
Christopher M. Markey	9th Bristol
Juana Matias	16th Essex
Paul McMurtry	11th Norfolk
Joan Meschino	3rd Plymouth
James R. Miceli	19th Middlesex
Rady Mom	18th Middlesex
Frank A. Moran	17th Essex
Michael J. Moran	18th Suffolk
David K. Muradian, Jr.	9th Worcester
James M. Murphy	4th Norfolk
Brian Murray	10th Worcester
David M. Nangle	17th Middlesex
Harold P. Naughton, Jr.	12th Worcester
James J. O'Day	14th Worcester
Keiko M. Orrall	12th Bristol
Jerald A. Parisella	6th Essex
Sarah K. Peake	4th Barnstable
Alice Hanlon Peisch	14th Norfolk
William Smitty Pignatelli	4th Berkshire
Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr.	12th Hampden
David M. Rogers	24th Middlesex
John H. Rogers	12th Norfolk
Jeffrey N. Roy	10th Norfolk
Byron Rushing	9th Suffolk
Daniel J. Ryan	2nd Suffolk
Angelo M. Scaccia	14th Suffolk
John W. Scibak	2nd Hampshire
Alan Silvia	7th Bristol
Theodore C. Speliotis	13th Essex
William M. Straus	10th Bristol
Paul Tucker	7th Essex
Chynah Tyler	7th Suffolk
David T. Vieira	3rd Barnstable
RoseLee Vincent	16th Suffolk

Chris Walsh	6th Middlesex
Thomas P. Walsh	12th Essex
Timothy R. Whelan	1st Barnstable
Susannah M. Whipps	2nd Franklin
Bud Williams	11th Hampden
Donald H. Wong	9th Essex
Daniel J. Hunt	13th Suffolk

# **HOUSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . No. 3652**

Filed by Mr. DeLeo of Winthrop and other members of the House. April 24, 2017.

### The Commonwealth of Massachusetts



1

House of Representatives, April 24, 2017.

In the One Hundred and Ninetieth General Court (2017-2018)

Ordered, That a joint special legislative committee, to be known as the Martin Luther

2 King, Jr. Memorial Committee, shall be established to develop plans and make recommendations 3 to the General Court on the erection of an appropriate permanent memorial to the late Reverend 4 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The committee's recommendations shall include, without limitation, 5 the type of permanent memorial to be erected, at least 3 options for the location of the memorial 6 and estimates of the cost of acquiring land on which the memorial would be constructed, if any, 7 cost of designing and construction of the memorial and costs associated with the perpetual care 8 and maintenance of the memorial. 9 The committee shall consist of 4 members of the Senate, 3 of whom shall be appointed by the 10 President of the Senate and 1 of whom shall be appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate 11 and 7 members of the House of Representatives, 6 of whom shall be appointed by the Speaker of 12 the House of Representatives and 1 of whom shall be appointed by the Minority Leader of the

- House of Representatives. One member of the Senate appointed by the Senate President and 1
- member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker shall be designated by the
- 15 President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively, to serve as
- 16 co-chairs of the committee.
- 17 The Senate and the House of Representatives, acting jointly, shall provide administrative and
- 18 financial support to the committee.
- 19 Said committee shall report to the Senate and the House of Representatives the results of its
- 20 investigation and study, and its recommendations together with drafts of legislation, if any,
- 21 necessary to carry its recommendations into effect, by filing the same with the Clerk of the
- Senate and the Clerk of the House of Representatives on or before May 31, 2018.