A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Belle Chasse High School varsity cheerleaders on winning the NCA High School National Cheerleading Championship and the Small Varsity Non-Tumbling national title.

WHEREAS, the Belle Chasse High School varsity cheerleaders are national champions for the fourth consecutive year and for the fifth time in the last six years, having won in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018; and

WHEREAS, the team members displayed their enthusiasm, strength, and impressive performance skills; and

WHEREAS, the cheerleading squad is coached by Milicent A. Roussell, Tameka T. Johnson, and Kaylee Boaz and is comprised of seniors, juniors, and sophomores who gleefully execute athletic stunts, dance routines, and cheers; and

WHEREAS, each team member is duly recognized for her enthusiastic contribution to the national championship: Alexis Abella, Ashley Arnona, Megan Barbazon, Madeline Barr, Yasmine Battle, Alyssa Black, Macye Brown, Carley Cavalier, Raegan Dinet, Calise Estapa, Claire Gauthreaux, Jenna Hewitt, Mia Himes, Jordan Hoffman, Tamyri Hubbard, Ella Katrosh, Madison Kelley-Page, Helen LeBlanc, Brooklyn Meladine, Daniela Nettles, Isabella Phillips, Annabelle Picou, Myliah Surratt, Hadleigh Taylor, Janell Washington, Caitlin Williamson, Bianca Wilson, and Catherine Wooton; and

WHEREAS, the team members also won the Small Varsity Non-Tumbling national title for the fourth time in the last five years, namely 2014, 2015, 2017, and 2018; and

WHEREAS, the members who participated in the non-tumbling competition included Yasmine Battle, Carley Cavalier, Raegan Dinet, Claire Gauthreaux, Mia Himes, Tamyri Hubbard, Helen LeBlanc, Brooklyn Meladine, Caitlin Williamson, Bianca Wilson, and Catherine Wooton; and

SR NO. 98 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the 2017-2018 competition coaches were Milicent A. Roussell and Tameka T. Johnson.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Belle Chasse High School varsity cheerleading squad upon winning the 2018 NCA High School National Cheerleading Championship and the Small Varsity Non-Tumbling national title and does hereby extend its congratulations to team members, coaches, sponsors, and everyone involved in this wonderful cheerleading program as they celebrate their achievement.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Belle Chasse High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE