A RESOLUTION

To commend President Scott Cowen and Tulane University for a tradition of academic excellence and to designate Tuesday, April 22, 2014, as Tulane University Day at the Louisiana Legislature.

WHEREAS, founded in 1834, Tulane University is one of the most highly regarded and selective independent research universities in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Tulane traces its origins to the Medical College of Louisiana founded in 1834 by seven young doctors as the Deep South's second-oldest medical school, which by 1847 was part of the newly established public institution, the University of Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Scott S. Cowen is Tulane University's 14th president and he also holds joint appointments as the Seymour S. Goodman Memorial Professor of Business in Tulane's A.B. Freeman School of Business and Professor of Economics in the School of Liberal Arts; and

WHEREAS, TIME magazine has named President Cowen one of the nation's Top 10 Best College Presidents and he was one of only four university leaders nationwide to receive the 2009 Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Award; and

WHEREAS, in 2010 President Cowen was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the world's most prestigious honorary societies. And in that same year he was appointed by President Barack Obama to the White House Council for Community Solutions, which advised the President on ways to reconnect and empower young people who are neither employed nor in school; and

WHEREAS, President Cowen is also the recipient of The Times-Picayune's Loving Cup, which each year honors a New Orleanian who has worked unselfishly for the community without expectation of recognition or material reward and has been honored by New Orleans City Business as one of the 30 "Driving Forces" in New Orleans in the last 30 years and by *Gambit* as New Orleanian of the Year in 2011; and

SR NO. 77 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, Since President Cowen's arrival in 1998, Tulane University has more than quadrupled its undergraduate applications while experiencing all-time highs in student quality; and

WHEREAS, President Cowen led Tulane through the most trying period of its history when, in August 2005, Hurricane Katrina devastated the city of New Orleans, flooding 70 percent of Tulane's uptown campus and all the buildings of its downtown health sciences campus; and

WHEREAS, Tulane is the nation's only university with a School of Medicine, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, and a National Institutes of Health-funded National Primate Center; and

WHEREAS, Tulane University has provided medical care for tens of thousands of patients at Charity Hospital and educated thousands of future physicians through medical student training and residency programs at Charity and University hospitals; and

WHEREAS, research in many disciplines has flourished at Tulane through the establishment of centers such as the Newcomb College Institute, the Roger Thayer Stone Center for Latin American Studies, the Middle American Research Institute, the Center for Bioenvironmental Research, the Murphy Institute of Political Economy, the Tulane Cancer Center, the Newcomb College Center for Research on Women, and the New Orleans Center for the Gulf South; and

WHEREAS, the Center for Bioenvironmental Research (CBR) is building on a rich history of cross-disciplinary research and service and advancing the state's capacity in environmental research on long-standing and emerging concerns; and

WHEREAS, the CBR is dedicated to realizing sustainability and creating a more resilient coast by fostering innovation and research; and

WHEREAS, Tulane is ranked by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching as a university with very high research activity; and

WHEREAS, in the fall of 2006, Tulane became the first research university in the nation to have a public service requirement for all undergraduates; and

WHEREAS, Tulane has been named by the Corporation for National and Community Service to the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll for

SR NO. 77 ENROLLED

an unprecedented seven consecutive years; and

WHEREAS, Tulane students have contributed 480,000 service hours to programs in New Orleans; and

WHEREAS, the Cowen Institute for Public Education Initiative's Advance Nola program has more than doubled the number of students taking Advanced Placement math, science, and English courses in high schools with more than 500 students enrolled in 2013; and

WHEREAS, Tulane is New Orleans' largest private employer and a major economic driver in the region, accounting for approximately \$920 million in annual economic activity and directly and indirectly creating 10,600 jobs throughout Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the new Yulman Stadium is returning college football to campus after a 30-year absence, and it will be a point of pride and economic stimulus for New Orleans and give the Green Wave a true home field advantage; and

WHEREAS, President Cowen will be retiring on July 1, 2014, leaving a distinguished legacy that Tulane University and the State of Louisiana will be forever grateful for; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to set aside a special day in celebration of President Scott Cowen and Tulane University.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend President Scott Cowen and Tulane University for a tradition of academic excellence and does hereby designate Tuesday, April 22, 2014, as Tulane University Day at the Louisiana Legislature.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of Tulane University.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE