## A RESOLUTION

To recognize Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College for one hundred fifty years of service and excellence in higher education.

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University, formerly named Seminary of Learning and Military Academy of the State of Louisiana, opened for class on January 2, 1860, and has offered military training ever since; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University was originally located in Pineville, and Colonel William Tecumseh Sherman served as the first superintendent; and

WHEREAS, the university moved to Baton Rouge in 1869, and was merged with the Louisiana Agricultural and Mechanical College in 1877; and

WHEREAS, the newly merged Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College was obligated to fulfill the duties of the Morrill Act by providing scientific and classical studies, military tactics, agriculture, engineering, and all fields that promote liberal education for "the industrial classes in the several pursuits and professions of life"; and

WHEREAS, brothers David F. Boyd and Thomas D. Boyd served diligently as presidents of the university, and their name has been attached to the highest faculty title; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University has won 46 national championships since it began intercollegiate athletics in 1893 and maintains one of only two financially self-sustaining athletic programs in the country; and

WHEREAS, in 1926, the state of Louisiana constructed a campus in Italian Renaissance style and created one of the world's most beautiful college environments; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University is a land-grant, sea-grant, and space-grant institution, and is designated as a Research University (Very High Research Activity) by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and performs research for the benefit of the United States and the state of Louisiana; and

SR NO. 52 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University is the flagship institution of the state of

Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University was the first public university in Louisiana

to adopt admission standards requiring successful completion of a high school college

preparatory curriculum; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University offers degrees in 72 baccalaureate programs,

78 master's programs, and 53 doctoral programs, and has awarded more than 100,000

degrees since the institution's inception; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University instituted the "Pelican Promise" need-based

aid program so that students of the most dire financial condition may receive the benefits of

higher education and participate fully in our society and economy; and

WHEREAS, the generosity of the citizens of this state and nation have contributed

to the support of Louisiana State University, and LSU has in turn provided a quality

education, basic and applicable research, and valuable public service.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana

does hereby recognize Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

on its sesquicentennial anniversary and expresses sincere gratitude to the university for its

leadership.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to

Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Page 2 of 2