SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 48

BY SENATOR WOMACK

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Pentecostals of Wayside of Franklin Parish on the occasion of its 104th anniversary and to celebrate the faith of its founders.

WHEREAS, the Pentecostals of Wayside was founded in 1920 in Winnsboro, Louisiana and was the first Apostolic Pentecostal Congregation in Northeast Louisiana; and WHEREAS, the original charter members included the Wollerson, Day, Parker,

Smith, and Taylor families; and

WHEREAS, many great men have given their hearts to preaching the saving Gospel at the Pentecostals of Wayside including Brother W. T. Hemphill, Brother Riley Hodge, Brother E. D. Browning, Brother Jack Wallace, Brother Huey Smith, Brother Louis Dunn, Brother Doyle Aaron, Brother Son Warrbington, Brother Barker, Brother Lambert, Brother Jack Jones, Brother Hammons, Brother Buck McKeithen, Brother Eugene Smith, Brother Tullos, Brother Ralph McAllister, Rev. Clyde Grayson, Brother George Bates, Brother C. N. Tucker, Reverend Jesse E. Boothe, Reverend Scott Wilson, Brother Roger Pete, Reverend Norris Poole, and the current and longest continuous serving Pastor Tommy Cotten; and

WHEREAS, many other evangelists have filled the Wayside pulpit, pouring revival into the people, including Matt Holland, Henry Dunn, James Warbington, R.W. Hancock, Carl Shurte, Bill Yates, and Jeff Leyva, and countless others; and

WHEREAS, the church has undergone many changes in the last century from the first church building built in 1928, to the addition of Sunday school rooms in the 1960s, a new parsonage in the 1970s, and a large fellowship hall in the 1980s; and

WHEREAS, most of the church's amazing transformation through the years was carried out by the men of the church who labored many hours every evening after work; and

SR NO. 48 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the church's prayers have been answered through the construction of a new church building which was promised by God years ago; and

WHEREAS, since the church's inception, sinners have turned their lives to the Lord Jesus Christ, through water baptisms at Bayou Mason, the Low Water Bridge, the Shells, and in the new sanctuary; and

WHEREAS, throughout the past century, the Pentecostals of Wayside have stood firm in their beliefs and reached out to lost and broken souls by sharing the truth and good news of the Lord Jesus Christ; and

WHEREAS, the church body that began 104 years ago with little more than the strength and tenacity of its founders remains today a strong beacon of hope and promise for its faithful congregation who serve the Lord Jesus Christ and Franklin Parish.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Pentecostals of Wayside of Franklin Parish on the occasion of its 104th anniversary and celebrates the faith of its founders.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the dedication of its new Edifice during the third week of April in 2024 and the 19th anniversary of service of Pastor and Mrs. Tommy Cotten.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Pastor Tommy Cotten of the Pentecostals of Wayside.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE