SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 47

BY SENATORS FIELDS, BARROW, FOIL, POPE, WARD AND WHITE

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the 2020 high school graduates of schools in East Baton Rouge Parish.

WHEREAS, normally, the spring semester for high school seniors would be filled with various events culminating in a graduation ceremony; however, this year students were forced into distance learning and the cancellation of all the traditional senior events due to the closure of school in mid-March because of the coronavirus pandemic; and

WHEREAS, representatives of the high schools in East Baton Rouge Parish will be honored at the East Baton Rouge Parish-Wide Graduation Ceremony "Celebrating the Class of 2020" at the Louisiana Leadership Institute Stadium Parking Lot on May 19, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the event is being jointly sponsored by the Louisiana Leadership Institute, the office of the East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff, the office of the East Baton Rouge Mayor-President, and the guest speaker will be Coach Ed Orgeron of the 2020 National Champion LSU Tigers; and

WHEREAS, the following senior student leaders will be the recognized at the event:

Kameron Bilbrew, Class President, Arlington Preparatory Academy

Hayden Hotard, Class Vice President, Arlington Preparatory Academy

Kahlia Bell, Class President, Baker High School

Mia Daigre, Baker High School

Heba Jarboun, Class President, Baton Rouge Magnet High

Alajah Robins, Baton Rouge Magnet High School

Alayah Robins, Baton Rouge Magnet High School

Kiauna Rollins, Class Vice President, Baton Rouge Magnet High School

Devonte Chews, Class President, Belaire High School

Zelinda Harleux, Belaire High School

Song Dam, Class President, Broadmoor Senior High School

SR NO. 47 ENROLLED

Kyra Honore, Class President, Capitol High School

Jalyn Smith, Capitol High School

Daniel Barfield, Class President, Catholic High School

Nicholas Fanguy, Valedictorian, Catholic High School

Andrew Medine, Student Leadership Board President, Central High School

Miguel Castro, Student Leadership Board Vice President. Central High School

Jon'lil Barrow-Lewis, Student Government Association President, Cristo Rey Baton

Rouge Franciscan High School

Jada Nelson, Cristo Rey Baton Rouge Franciscan High School

Sara Elizabeth Be, Student Body President, Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

Riley Carmouche, Episcopal School of Baton Rouge

Anneisha Anthony, Class Vice President, Glen Oaks Senior High School

Elijah Stewart, Class President, Glen Oaks Senior High School

Ja'Lexus Jackson, Student Government Association President, Istrouma High School

Jason Broux, Student Government Association President, Jehovah-Jireh Christian

Academy

Vandani Chew, Lee Magnet High School

Joubert Harris, Student Government Association President, Lee Magnet High School

Zion Ross, Class President, Lee Magnet High School

Journe Smith, Lee Magnet High School

T'Rynni Young, Lee Magnet High School

Morgan Patton, Student Government Association President, Madison Preparatory

Academy

Braylan Selmon, Madison Preparatory Academy

Aaliyah White, President, Madison Preparatory Academy

Micah Jones, McKinley Senior High School

Lauryn Knight, Class President, McKinley Senior High School

Keldrick LaCour, McKinley Senior High School

Rekai Matthews, Class Vice President, McKinley Senior High School

Schyler Shelmire, McKinley Senior High School

SR NO. 47 ENROLLED

Aaliyah Abdul, Class Vice President, Mentorship STEAM Academy

Howard Marsellus IV, Class Vice President, Northdale Superintendent's Academy

Abreonna Banks, Class Vice President, Northeast High School

DeJuane George, Class President, Northeast High School

Kristen Caughman, Class President, Parkview Baptist School

Brooke Pittman, Class Vice President, Parkview Baptist School

Catherine Bonaventure, Class Vice President, Runnels School

Anna Manning, Runnels School

Jaeda Grant, Class Vice President, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Jeremy Mozee, Class President, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Kingslee Vinson, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Amaria Green, Student Government Association President, Southern University

Laboratory School

Victoria Funes, St. Joseph's Academy

Catie Brumfield, Class Vice President, St. Michael the Archangel High School

Abigail Button, Class President, St. Michael the Archangel High School

Carlette Dunn, St. Michael the Archangel High School

Kevin Johnson, Class President, Tara High School

Quinteria Nash, Class Vice President, Tara High School

Taylor Randall, Class President, The Brighton School

Kyla Johnson, Student Government Association President, The Dunham School

Isaiah White, Class President, Thrive Academy

Derrek Lathon, University High School

Lanie Grace Everett, Class President, University High School

Antonio Clayton Jr., University High School

Mya Alford, Class President, Woodlawn High School

Adrianna Brown, Class President, Zachary High School

Elantra Roussell, Zachary High School; and

WHEREAS, the Every Kid A King Fund, which funded six-month internet access to the students in the parish, and the Boo Grigsby Foundation will provide a one thousand

SR NO. 47 <u>ENROLLED</u>

dollar technology scholarship to each of the listed students; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend and congratulate all of the graduating high school seniors in East Baton Rouge Parish, particularly the leaders honored at the East Baton Rouge Parish-Wide Graduation Ceremony "Celebrating the Class of 2020".

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate all the 2020 high school graduates of schools in East Baton Rouge Parish, particularly the students honored at the East Baton Rouge Parish-Wide Graduation Ceremony "Celebrating the Class of 2020" to be held on May 19, 2020.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE