BY SENATOR REESE

## A RESOLUTION

To recognize and commend the members and board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards Association.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association represents the six hundred thirty elected school board members of the sixty-eight locally elected school boards in the state of Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association is governed by a board of directors, composed of school board members from across the state, elected by their peers; and

WHEREAS, the members of the board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards Association volunteer their time, beyond their service on their respective local school boards, to promote, support, and advocate on behalf of the sixty-eight locally elected school boards in the state; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association is holding its annual Capitol Conference to promote the advocacy for public education with the Louisiana Legislature; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 officers of the Louisiana School Boards Association are President Vernon Travis, a member of Vernon Parish School Board; President-elect Katherine Lemoine, a member of the St. Bernard Parish School Board; Vice President Taft Kleinpeter, a member of the Ascension Parish School Board; Immediate Past-President, Rose Dominguez, a member of the Tangipahoa Parish School Board; and executive director, Dr. Janet Pope; and

WHEREAS, the members of the board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards
Association are most deserving of recognition for their hard work and dedication to the
school boards of our state and to public education.

SR NO. 44 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and recognize the members and board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards Association.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Louisiana School Boards Association.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE