SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 40

BY SENATOR MORRELL

A RESOLUTION

To commend LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing for its dedication in educating and inspiring the next generation of nursing healthcare leaders in Louisiana.

WHEREAS, the LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing, established in 1968, provides multiple programs educating nursing students in advanced patient care methodologies, interprofessional care coordination, and comprehensive patient diversity and inclusiveness elements; and

WHEREAS, it has been widely recognized that nurses from all roles, populations of care, and specialties are vital elements in a comprehensive and effective healthcare delivery system; and

WHEREAS, the LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing was ranked the #4 public nursing school in the United States for 2018 by Nursing Schools Almanac; and

WHEREAS, students attending the School of Nursing can pursue bachelor, master, and doctoral level degrees in areas such as Nurse Generalist, Clinical Nurse Leader, Nurse Educator, Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist, and Nurse Scientist; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the school's values of stewardship, organizational citizenship, nursing innovation, caring, professionalism, respect, integrity, diversity, and excellence, Dr. Jessica Landry and Dr. Todd Tartavoulle have developed and championed unique programs designed to assist vulnerable populations within Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Landry developed the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANEs) program which educates and certifies nurses to specialize in treating sexual assault victims which result in improved patient care and higher conviction rates; and

WHEREAS, Drs. Tartavoulle and Landry have created and promoted the Advocacy Training Program for Louisiana nurses and nursing students which provides instruction on delivering culturally sensitive care to LGBTQ+ patients. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing, School Dean Dr. Demetrius Porche, Dr. Jessica Landry, and Dr. Todd Tartavoulle for outstanding work in advancing healthcare practices and nursing education in the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Dr. Larry Hollier, Chancellor of LSU Health New Orleans.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE