BY SENATOR BARROW

## A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Teachers of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for exemplary and dedicated service.

WHEREAS, education and knowledge are the foundation of America's current and future strength; and

WHEREAS, teachers and other education staff have earned and deserve the respect of students and communities for their selfless dedication to our state's children; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to raise public awareness of the unquantifiable contributions of teachers, and to promote greater respect and understanding for the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, teachers play an important role in preparing children to be positive and contributing members of society, and they often have an ever-expanding quest for knowledge; and

WHEREAS, students, schools, communities, and a number of organizations host teacher appreciation events in recognition of teacher appreciation week, and those same groups are ever-committed to adopting efforts to close the academic achievement gap; and

WHEREAS, the contributions made by our teachers to the world of academia and to society cannot adequately be recounted; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools located in Senate District 15 are as follows:

Marissa Jones, Baker Heights Elementary

Kanika Batiste, Brownfields Elementary

Tera Lewis, Copper Mill Elementary

Beelyn Ambeau, Crestworth Elementary

SR NO. 214 ENROLLED

Lisha Winston, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence

Rushondh Moore, Glen Oaks Park Elementary

Falisha Dootson, Greenbriar Elementary

Michelle Bennet, La Belle Aire Elementary School

Tequilla Bernard, Melrose Elementary

Brennea Dozier, Merrydale Elementary

Dominique Gibbs, Park Forest Elementary

Erica Courtney-Parker, Progress Elementary

Kya Taylor, Ryan Elementary

Jasmine Sholes, Sharon Hill Elementary

Wendy Maranto, Twin Oaks Elementary School

Carlye Gongora, Villa Del Rey Elementary School

Ingrid Butler, White Hills Elementary

Kerry Lee, Zachary Elementary

Tanya Dargin, Scotlandville Middle Academic Magnet School

Erin Keys, Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School

Ronald Stewart, Baker High School

Kenosha Base, Belaire High School

Lilibeth Pongwan, Glen Oaks High School

Johnathan Mattear, Northdale Superintendents Academy

Nia Boutte, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Reagan Daniel, Rollins Place Elementary; and

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the educators selected as the Teachers of the Year for their service to the students of Senate District 15, and does hereby recognize and acclaim the contributions each educator has given to the academic world and to society, and does hereby express best hopes that their marks in history will continue to be made for many years to come

SR NO. 214 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the educators selected as Teachers of the Year in Senate District 15 for the 2021-2022 academic calendar year.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE