BY SENATORS GARY SMITH, ALLAIN, CHABERT AND PRICE

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate Head Coach Timmy Rebowe and the Nicholls State

University Colonels football team for a historic season of accomplishments,
including winning the 2018 Southland Conference Championship.

WHEREAS, as finishing the 2017 season with its first Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) playoff appearance since 2007, along with hosting a playoff game for the first time in school history, expectations for the 2018 Colonels were sky high; and

WHEREAS, those expectations were warranted as the eighteenth-ranked Colonels notched their fourth-ever win against a Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) team and first against a Power Five conference school with a 4-yard touchdown run by Chase Fourcade that gave the Colonels a 26-23 overtime victory against the Kansas Jayhawks; and

WHEREAS, after a pair of difficult losses to FBS Tulane and rival McNeese, under the leadership of Head Coach Timmy Rebowe, the Colonels rebounded to win seven of their next eight regular season games, finishing the regular season with a 44-0 rout of the rival SLU Lions in the River Bell Classic; and

WHEREAS, this historic season resulted in the Colonels claiming only their second Southland Conference championship and securing a berth in the NCAA FCS playoffs for only the fifth time in program history; and

WHEREAS, the postseason began with fourteenth-ranked Colonels hosting the opening round of the playoffs on Manning Field at John L. Guidry Stadium against the University of San Diego; and

WHEREAS, after a resounding 49-30 victory over the Toreros, the Colonels traveled to Cheney, Washington to play the fourth-ranked Eastern Washington Eagles on their red turf field, in the bitter cold; and

SR NO. 200 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the Colonels jumped out to a lead at halftime before falling to the eventual national runner-up in hard-fought valiant effort; and

WHEREAS, several of the 2018 Colonels earned post-season honors including: All Southland Conference Honorable Mention - Damion Jeanpiere Jr, P.J. Burkhalter, Brandon Fontenot, and Ronald Ollie; All Southland Conference Second Team - Dontrell Taylor, Dai'Jean Dixon, Eddie Houston, Winston Jones, Allen Pittman, Darren Evans, Ahmani Martin, Khristian Mims, and Damion Jeanpiere Jr; All Southland Conference First Team - Chase Fourcade, Ryan Hanley, Chandler Arceneaux, Lorran Fonseca, Sully Laiche, and Evan Veron; Southland Conference Player of the Year - Chase Fourcade; Sophomore All-America Honorable Mention - Dai'Jean Dixon; and All-America Second Team - Sully Laiche; and

WHEREAS, since arriving on campus prior to the 2015 season, River Region native Timmy Rebowe has immersed himself into the community, supported all aspects of campus life including attendance at other Colonels' sporting events, brought unprecedented success Down the Bayou, and set the high bar of excellence and achievement for future teams.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Head Coach Timmy Rebowe and the Nicholls State University Colonels football team for a historic season of accomplishments, including winning the 2018 Southland Conference Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Nicholls State University Colonels Head Coach Timmy Rebowe and Nicholls State University President Dr. Jay Clune.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE