BY SENATOR JOHNS

## A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the McNeese Cowgirls Softball Team upon advancing to the National College Athletic Association (NCAA) Tournament.

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the citizens and the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana have learned that the McNeese Cowgirls Softball Team advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2010, their fourth overall postseason tournament appearance; and

WHEREAS, they also advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time under second year Head Coach Joanna Hardin; and

WHEREAS, McNeese won the school's second NCAA Tournament game with a 5-2 win over Arizona State in the first round, which was its first win since McNeese defeated Centenary in 2005; and

WHEREAS, they won the Southland Conference Tournament to earn the automatic bid, also their first conference tournament title since 2010; and

WHEREAS, the Cowgirls won the regular season conference title, the third in the last four years and broke a total of twenty school records and tied four school records (eighteen McNeese records broken, two conference records broken, four McNeese records tied), and set a school record with forty-three wins; and

WHEREAS, two players were named to the Baton Rouge Region All-Tournament Team, Erika Piancastelli and Emily Vincent; three players were named to the All-Region Team, Erika Piancastelli (1st team), and Emily Vincent and Marisa Taunton (3rd team); eight players were named to the All-Southland Conference Team; Erika Piancastelli, Hailey Drew, Emily Vincent and Morgan Catron were named to the first team; Jamie Allred and Marisa Taunton were named to the second team; and Taylor Goree and Justyce McClain were named to the third team; and

SR NO. 181 <u>ENROLLED</u>

WHEREAS, Erika Piancastelli, Emily Vincent, and Marisa Taunton were all named to the South All-Region Team, an award which honors softball student athletes from the association's ten regions with first, second, and third team selections; and

WHEREAS, Erika Piancastelli was named the Southland Conference Player and Hitter of the Year for the second straight year; became McNeese's career homerun leader as a sophomore; and was recently selected to the National Fast Pitch Coaches Association All-American Team for the second consecutive year, making her the first softball player in the history of the Southland Conference to be named to an All-American Team twice; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana wish to recognize each of these extraordinary young women and coaches individually on their much deserved advancement to the NCAA Tournament earned through teamwork, determination, and dedication to the sport.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the McNeese Cowgirls Softball Team upon advancing to the NCAA Tournament.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Joanna Hardin.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE