BY SENATOR LONG

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Northwestern State University baseball team on winning the 2018

Southland Conference Tournament and for qualifying to compete in the National

College Athletic Association Division I Baseball Regional Tournament in Corvallis,

Oregon.

WHEREAS, the Northwestern State University Demons took home their first ever Southland Conference Tournament championship by defeating the University of New Orleans Privateers by a score of 7-5 at Constellation Field in Sugar Land, Texas, on Saturday, May 26, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the Demons plated seven runs on ten hits, coming back from two runs down and breaking a late tie to pull away from the Privateers for the 2018 title; and

WHEREAS, the Privateers led 2-0 in the bottom of the first inning, but at the top of the second inning, a walk loaded the bases for the Demons with no outs, after which a Sam Taylor RBI single deep to right field scored two runs to tie the game at 2-2; and

WHEREAS, a sacrifice bunt and a ground out to the shortstop saw two outs put on the board, a run scored, and a throw past first base brought Sam Taylor home for the Demons' fourth run of the inning; and

WHEREAS, the Demons capitalized on multiple Privateer errors in the top of the fourth inning after a wild pitch and two straight errors put them up 5-2; and

WHEREAS, heading into the sixth inning with the score tied at 5-5, the deadlock was broken atop the seventh inning when Player of the Year David Fry drove a solo homer into the left field stands to put the Demons up 6-5 with no outs on the board; and

WHEREAS, J.P. Lagreco nearly notched a solo round tripper of his own with one out, registering a long double to the left center field wall, and a line drive RBI single by Luke Watson then sent him home, making the score 7-5 going into the bottom of the seventh; and

WHEREAS, both sides were held scoreless through the eighth and top of the ninth innings and the Privateers headed to the bottom of the ninth facing a two-run deficit; and

SR NO. 18 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, with two outs, they managed a single base hit and advanced to second on a wild pitch, but it was as close as they would get as the next batter grounded out to second base on a full count to secure the victory for the Demons; and

WHEREAS, the next stop for the Demons on their quest for a spot in the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska, is the National Conference Athletic Association Division I Baseball Regional Tournament in Corvallis, Oregon, on June 1-4, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the members of the talented Demons squad and coaches merit special recognition and congratulations for their extraordinary performance and competitive spirit throughout the season and the tournament; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of athletic excellence throughout the tournament and each of them deserves recognition for their vital contribution to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Bobby Barbier and the assistant coaches instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of leadership and motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, the Northwestern State University Demons baseball team is recognized for the well-deserved accolades earned throughout the season and showcasing the extraordinary athletic abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of college competition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby express its sincere congratulations to the Northwestern State University Demons baseball team and their coaches for winning the 2018 Southland Conference Tournament and for qualifying to play in the National Conference Athletic Association Division I Baseball Regional Tournament in Corvallis, Oregon, and for the sportsmanship shown while achieving such high honors for themselves, for Northwestern State University, and the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of Northwestern State University.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE