BY SENATORS LAFLEUR, ALARIO, ALLAIN, APPEL, BARROW, BISHOP, BOUDREAUX, CARTER, CHABERT, CLAITOR, COLOMB, CORTEZ, DONAHUE, ERDEY, FANNIN, GATTI, HEWITT, JOHNS, LAMBERT, LONG, LUNEAU, MARTINY, MILKOVICH, MILLS, MIZELL, MORRELL, MORRISH, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, TARVER, THOMPSON, WALSWORTH, WARD AND WHITE

## A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Eunice Lady Bengals softball team upon winning the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II national championship.

WHEREAS, the LSU Eunice Lady Bengals softball team won their fifth national championship in seven years with a dramatic 8-7 win over top-ranked Jones County Junior College on May 20th at Traceway Park in Clinton, Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, LSU Eunice used a walk-off squeeze bunt by Haley Godeaux to score Emily Henderson, after Jordan Bishop singled to open the inning and pinch runner Abby Trahan tied the game when she scored on a wild pitch, to win the 2017 NJCAA Division II Softball championship; and

WHEREAS, Hannah Vidallier earned the win pitching three innings, giving up one run, two hits, and walking one; Rebecca Skains was named Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the tournament as she hit two home runs and drove in three runs in the title game; and Abigail Leonards garnered Most Outstanding Pitcher of the tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Bengals completed its championship season posting a record of 53 wins and 11 losses, a .828 winning percentage; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Bengal players, Jeannemarie Angelle, Jordan Bishop, Alexandra Cifreo, Darian Doucet, Mima Doucet, Elizabeth Fontenot, Sierra Gasca, Haley Godeaux, Mary Guillory, Emily Henderson, Ally Howard, Savannah Lejeune, Abigail Leonards, Alexa Lonibos, Maleah Saucedo, Rebecca Skains, Bobbi Smith, Abby Trahan, Hannah Vidallier, Lakyn Wales, and Molly Wilson, were ably guided by Head Coach Andy Lee and Assistant Coach Logan Hebert; and

SR NO. 177 <u>ENROLLED</u>

WHEREAS, hard work and dedication led the team to another spectacular season and national championship, having previously secured the title in 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2016, as the Lady Bengals hit 83 home runs, scored 523 runs, and posted a team batting average of .365, an on-base percentage of .440, and a slugging percentage of .611; and

WHEREAS, the team performed at the highest levels of excellence throughout the season, and each Lady Bengal deserves recognition for her hard work and vital contributions to the winning effort, along with solid coaching, commitment from parents, and the backing of the college and community; and

WHEREAS, the players and staff of the Lady Bengals have made their university, community, and state proud because of their competitiveness, motivation, and dedication to the sport they love.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the athletes and coaching staff of the LSU Eunice softball team for winning the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II championship; does hereby recognize the team's outstanding performance and the pride and honor they have brought to the university, community, and state; and does hereby extend best wishes to the athletes, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine softball program as they celebrate their exceptional season and prepare for continued success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Andy Lee.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE