## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 175

## BY SENATOR ROBERT MILLS

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the teachers selected as 2023 Teacher of the Year Honorees from schools located in Senate District 36 for exemplary and dedicated service.

WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication, inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity; and

WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any other school factor; and

WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school and in life; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named 2023 Teacher of the Year Honorees for schools located in Senate District 36 are as follows:

Joseph Joyner, Ringgold High School

Ginger Abney, Crawford Elementary School

Shannon Andrillion, Kingston Elementary School

Gabriel Gafford, Benton High School

Kristin Mosura, Rusheon Middle School; and

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby sincerely commend the teachers selected as 2023 Teacher of the Year Honorees from schools located in Senate District 36 for exemplary and dedicated service.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each Teacher of the Year recognized herein.