SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 111

BY SENATORS DORSEY, ADLEY, ALARIO, AMEDEE, APPEL, BROOME, CHABERT, CHAISSON, CHEEK, CLAITOR, CROWE, DONAHUE, DUPLESSIS, ERDEY, B. GAUTREAUX, N. GAUTREAUX, GUILLORY, HEBERT, HEITMEIER, JACKSON, KOSTELKA, LAFLEUR, LONG, MARIONNEAUX, MARTINY, MCPHERSON, MICHOT, MORRELL, MORRISH, MOUNT, MURRAY, NEVERS, PETERSON, QUINN, RISER, SHAW, SMITH, THOMPSON AND WALSWORTH

A RESOLUTION

To commend the LSU Tiger Baseball Team on winning its third consecutive Southeastern

Conference Tournament Championship and to wish the Tigers continued success in
the NCAA Tournament.

WHEREAS, adding another chapter to Tiger lore, the LSU Baseball Team captured the 2010 Southeastern Conference Tournament Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers entered the eight team tournament as the No. 8 seed having posted only a 3-14 record in their previous 17 games; but returned to championship form rattling off four straight wins to claim the championship, including victories over No. 1 seed and SEC champion Florida (10-6) behind the pitching of Anthony Ranaudo; followed by a victory over Vanderbilt (7-5) pitched by Austin Ross; and then a record-setting seven inning one-hit masterpiece by Ben Alsup against Ole Miss (8-0); and

WHEREAS, the Tigers faced Alabama in a championship game which featured two rain delays and was the first such game to go into extra innings; and

WHEREAS, in the top of the 11th inning, designated hitter Matt Gaudet singled and reached second base on an infield single by Mikie Mahtook, then Matt Fury pinch ran for Gaudet and scored when Tyler Hanover singled, giving the Tigers a 4-3 lead; and

WHEREAS, Ranaudo pitched three final shutout innings for the victory retiring Alabama in order in the bottom of the 11th, including a game-ending strikeout, having been preceded by LSU starter Daniel Bradshaw who also had an exceptional performance; and Paul Bertuccini who made his 108th career appearance, tying him with the most career pitching appearances in LSU history; and

SR NO. 111 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, LSU shortstop Austin Nola was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player batting .457 (7-for-16) with a triple, three doubles, and four RBIs, being the third straight LSU player to be named MVP of the tournament; and

WHEREAS, Nola, Hanover, Dean, Mahtook, and Alsup were named to the 2010 SEC All-Tournament team; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers (40-20), in capturing their third consecutive SEC Tournament title, became the only team to do so since the inception of the current tournament format and also became the first No. 8 seed to win the tournament title; and

WHEREAS, the win gave Coach Paul Mainieri a 13-1 career mark in the SEC Tournament with three straight championships; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers now enter the NCAA regionals in Los Angeles, California, with a focus to return to Omaha and the College World Series.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the LSU Tiger Baseball Team on winning its third consecutive Southeastern Conference Tournament Championship and does hereby wish the Tigers continued success in the NCAA Tournament.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Paul Mainieri and the LSU Tiger Baseball Team.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE