SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 8

BY SENATORS KLEINPETER, ABRAHAM, ALLAIN, BARROW, BERNARD, BOUDREAUX, BOUIE, CARTER, CATHEY, CLOUD, CONNICK, CORTEZ, DUPLESSIS, FESI, FIELDS, FOIL, HENRY, HENSGENS, HEWITT, JACKSON, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MCMATH, MILLIGAN, FRED MILLS, ROBERT MILLS, MIZELL, MORRIS, PEACOCK, POPE, PRICE, REESE, SMITH, STINE, TALBOT, TARVER, WHITE AND WOMACK AND REPRESENTATIVES AMEDEE, BEAULLIEU, BOYD, BROWN, CARRIER, DESHOTEL, EDMONDS, EDMONSTON, FARNUM, FIRMENT, FISHER, FONTENOT, GADBERRY, GAROFALO, HARRIS, HORTON, ILLG, MIKE JOHNSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, KNOX, LACOMBE, LAFLEUR, LARVADAIN, LYONS, MACK, MARCELLE, MIGUEZ, GREGORY MILLER, NELSON, NEWELL, CHARLES OWEN, SCHAMERHORN, SCHLEGEL, SELDERS, THOMAS AND WRIGHT

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To create and provide for the Task Force on Safety for Law Enforcement Officers Involved in High Speed Vehicle Pursuits.

WHEREAS, law enforcement professionals provide critical and necessary services to motorists in one of the most dangerous work environments; and

WHEREAS, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, motor vehicle-related incidents are a leading cause of line-of-duty deaths for law enforcement officers in the United States, evidenced by the fact that thirty-three percent of all line-of-duty deaths between the years 2011 through 2020 were due to motor vehicle-related incidents; and

WHEREAS, the risk of death to innocent bystanders and loss of property is greatly enhanced when a law enforcement officer is required to engage in a high speed vehicle pursuit to apprehend a dangerous criminal; and

WHEREAS, University of Washington researchers found that each year approximately three hundred fatalities in the United States occur during police pursuits and more than thirty percent of the fatalities were innocent bystanders who were not involved

SCR NO. 8 ENROLLED

in the pursuit; and

WHEREAS, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures, local law enforcement agencies provide approximately ninety percent of all automobile-related law enforcement services to the public; and

WHEREAS, local law enforcement agencies face unique challenges in terms of safety training due to limited funding and a limited pool of qualified candidates willing to serve; and

WHEREAS, the legislature recognizes that the vast majority of law enforcement officers are committed to working diligently to keep our roadways safe; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the public to find ways to increase safety training and enhance protocols for law enforcement officers involved in high speed vehicle pursuits in order to limit injuries and deaths of both officers and innocent people who were not involved in the high speed pursuit.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby establish and provide for the Task Force on Safety for Law Enforcement Officers Involved in High Speed Vehicle Pursuits to study and review police officer training and protcols for safety when the officer is involved in a high speed vehicle pursuit.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall meet as necessary and shall report its findings to the legislature, including submission of one printed copy and one electronic copy thereof to the David R. Poynter Legislative Research Library, not later than February 15, 2024, and shall terminate upon the date of submission of such report or February 15, 2024, whichever occurs first.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall include consideration of available low cost or no cost training for local law enforcement agencies, available sources of funds to assist local law enforcement agencies with the costs of providing necessary training and effective protocols, possible enhancement of criminal penalties for perpetrators who instigate high speed vehicle pursuits with law enforcement, and such other related topics as is determined relevant by the chairperson or by the task force.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall consist of the following members:

SCR NO. 8 ENROLLED

(1) One senator appointed by the president of the Senate who shall serve as the chairperson.

- (2) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives.
 - (3) One employee of the Louisiana State Police, appointed by the superintendent.
- (4) The executive director of the Louisiana District Attorneys Association or this designee
 - (5) The state public defender or his designee.
 - (6) The executive director of the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association or his designee.
- (7) One member of the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police appointed by the president of the association.
- (8) One member of the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice appointed by the executive director.
- (9) The executive director of the Center for Analytics and Research in Transportation Safety at Louisiana State University or his designee.
 - (10) The president of the Louisiana Fraternal Order of Police or his designee.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of this task force shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of the constituent organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a majority of the total membership shall constitute a quorum of the task force and any official action by the task force shall require an affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum present and voting.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the names of the members chosen, designated, or elected as provided herein shall be submitted to the president of the Senate by August 1, 2023, and the chair shall thereafter call the first meeting of the task force.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Senate Legislative Services shall provide staff support to the task force.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force may request additional staff support from the Louisiana State Police and the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice.

SCR NO. 8 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Louisiana State Police, Louisiana District Attorneys Association, the state public defender, the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association, the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police, the Center for Analytics and Research in Transportation Safety at Louisiana State University, the Louisiana Fraternal Order of Police, and the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES