## BY SENATORS LAMBERT AND PRICE AND REPRESENTATIVES BACALA, BRASS, EDMONSTON AND WILEY

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the St. Amant High School softball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2024 Class 5A state championship.

WHEREAS, the St. Amant High School Lady Gators softball team clinched their third consecutive state title, defeating the Ponchatoula Green Wave in a 7-2 victory to claim the 2024 Class 5A state softball championship; and

WHEREAS, St. Amant commanded the final game, claiming the ninth title in school history with a 25-10 record; and

WHEREAS, Makinzey Elisar was the game's most valuable player with two hits, a pair of runs, and multiple stellar plays in center field; and

WHEREAS, sophomore pitcher Braylee Decoteau gave up just three hits with four strikeouts in the championship win; and

WHEREAS, Emmaleigh Theriot hit a solo home run in the fifth inning and made an incredible over-the-shoulder running catch to silence a Ponchatoula rally; and

WHEREAS, Coach Amy Pitre and her staff continued the Lady Gators' tradition of excellence; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Gators piled on to their impressive legacy by adding 2024 to their list of championships from 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2019, 2022, and 2023; and

WHEREAS, the St. Amant Lady Gators softball team earned the respect of their opponents by demonstrating not only exemplary skill, determination, and focused teamwork, but also positive sportsmanship during their championship run.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the St. Amant High School Lady Gators softball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2024 Class 5A state championship and does hereby extend

SCR NO. 58 ENROLLED

sincere wishes that the coaches and team members continue to support one another to achieve great things in their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the St. Amant High School principal, Beth Templet.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES