## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 5

BY SENATORS MIZELL, ABRAHAM, ALLAIN, BARROW, BERNARD, BOUDREAUX, BOUIE, CARTER, CATHEY, CLOUD, CONNICK, CORTEZ, DUPLESSIS, FESI, FIELDS, HARRIS, HEWITT, JACKSON, KLEINPETER, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MILLIGAN, FRED MILLS, MORRIS, PEACOCK, POPE, PRICE, REESE, SMITH, STINE, TALBOT, TARVER AND WHITE AND REPRESENTATIVES BOYD, BUTLER, CARPENTER, DAVIS, DUBUISSON, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FREEMAN, FREIBERG, HILFERTY, HODGES, HORTON, LAFLEUR, LANDRY, MARCELLE, MOORE, NEWELL, PHELPS, SCHLEGEL, THOMAS, VILLIO AND WHITE

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Tigers women's basketball team on the occasion of winning the university's first NCAA basketball championship.

WHEREAS, on April 2, 2023, in Dallas, Texas, the Louisiana State University (LSU) women's basketball team defeated the University of Iowa Hawkeyes in dominating fashion by a score of 102 to 85 to claim LSU's first NCAA basketball championship; and

WHEREAS, in Coach Kim Mulkey's second season at LSU and with only moderate expectations, such as a preseason ranking of sixteen in the Associated Press writers' poll and a predicted third-place finish in the SEC preseason media poll, the Tigers roared through the season with only two losses en route to a number three seed in the NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers hosted the first and second rounds of the NCAA Tournament at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center before raucous hometown crowds, defeating Hawaii (73-50) and Michigan (66-42); and

WHEREAS, LSU moved on to the Sweet Sixteen in Greenville, South Carolina, defeating Utah (66-63) and Miami (54-42) in the Elite Eight; and

WHEREAS, in the Women's Final Four in Dallas, LSU won a hard-fought semifinal victory over number one seed Virginia Tech by a score of 79-72; and

WHEREAS, with the victory over Virginia Tech, the Tigers advanced to the national championship game for the first time in school history to tangle with the Hawkeyes from Iowa; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers' championship game victory on Sunday, April 2, 2023, was the highest rated women's college basketball game in television history with an average of 9.9 million viewers, peaking at 12.6 million viewers; and

WHEREAS, many sports writers are calling the LSU-Iowa championship a "game-changing" event in the history of women's college basketball; and

WHEREAS, the national champion Tigers consist of the following players:

(1) Sophomore forward Angel Reese from Baltimore, Maryland - All-Tournament Team and Tournament Most Outstanding Player, AP First Team All-American, First Team All-SEC, and SEC All-Defensive Team;

(2) Fifth-year senior guard Alexis Morris from Beaumont, Texas - All-Tournament Team and First Team All-SEC;

(3) Graduate student guard Jasmine Carson from Memphis, Tennessee-All-Tournament Team;

(4) Freshman guard Flau'jae Johnson from Savannah, Georgia - SEC Freshman of the Year and SEC All Freshman Team;

(5) Freshman forward Sa'Myah Smith from DeSoto, Texas - SEC All Freshman Team;

(6) Graduate student forward LaDazhia Williams from Bradenton, Florida;

(7) Senior forward Emily Ward from Bossier City, Louisiana;

(8) Sophomore forward Amani Bartlett from Cleveland, Texas;

(9) Sophomore guard Last-Tear Poa from Melbourne, Australia;

(10) Sophomore guard Kateri Poole from Bronx, New York;

(11) Freshman guard Izzy Besselman from Baton Rouge, Louisiana;

(12) Freshman forward Alisa Williams from Denton, Texas; and

WHEREAS, the national championship team was supported by a well-regarded and

highly-respected staff, including the following:

(1) Bob Starkey, associate head coach;

(2) Daphne Mitchell, assistant coach;

(3) Gary Redus II, assistant coach;

(4) Johnny Derrick, assistant athletic director and director of operations;

- (5) Jennifer Roberts, director of player personnel and influence;
- (6) Kaylin Rice, director of women's basketball recruiting;
- (7) Chante' Crutchfield, assistant director for operations and recruiting;
- (8) Joe Schwartz, assistant director for operations;
- (9) Jordin Westbrook, director of operations and special assistant to head coach;
- (10) Renee Braud, administrative coordinator;
- (11) Thomas Lené, assistant strength and conditioning coach;
- (12) Amanda Barbee, associate athletic trainer; and

WHEREAS, in 2021, Head Coach Kim Mulkey, a native of Tickfaw, Louisiana, returned home to lead the Tigers as the most decorated, most honored women's college player and coach in the history of the sport, with honors such as: four-time state champion at Hammond High School; class valedictorian at Hammond High School; All-American point guard at Louisiana Tech University (Tech); two-time national champion as a player at Tech; summa cum laude graduate of Tech; winner of the inaugural Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award; gold medalist at the 1983 Pan American Games in Caracas, Venezuela; gold medalist at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles, California; one national championship as an assistant coach at Tech; three-time national champion as the head coach at Baylor University; nine-time national coach of the year; Class of 1990 inductee into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame; Class of 1992 inductee into the Louisiana Tech Athletic Hall of Fame; Class of 2000 inductee into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame as a player; Class of 2020 inductee into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as a player, assistant coach, and head coach; and

WHEREAS, the joy of this incredible season will live in the hearts of LSU fans forever and the Tigers' dominance will set the new standard of excellence in the annals of women's college basketball; and

WHEREAS, local interest in the team set an all-time Maravich Assembly Center attendance record for all events of 15,721 during the regular season; and

WHEREAS, the transcendent television ratings of the championship game may very well be viewed as the game that "changed the game" for women's college basketball; and WHEREAS, it is most appropriate to recognize and express enduring appreciation for the immense pride and genuine honor that the 2022-2023 LSU Tigers women's basketball team has brought to the state of Louisiana, the world of women's college basketball, and the advancement of women's sports in general.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana State University Tigers women's basketball team on winning the 2022-2023 NCAA national championship and does hereby recognize and congratulate the team, the coaching and support staff, Head Coach Kim Mulkey, and the entire LSU family on this momentous, transcendent, consequential, and historic achievement.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Louisiana State University Athletic Director Scott Woodward.

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE