### SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 46

BY SENATORS CORTEZ, ABRAHAM, ALLAIN, BARROW, BERNARD, BOUDREAUX, BOUIE, CARTER, CATHEY, CLOUD, CONNICK, FESI, FIELDS, FOIL, HARRIS, HENRY, HENSGENS, HEWITT, JACKSON, JOHNS, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MCMATH, MILLIGAN, FRED MILLS, ROBERT MILLS, MIZELL, MORRIS, PEACOCK, PETERSON, POPE, PRICE, REESE, SMITH, TALBOT, TARVER, WARD, WHITE AND WOMACK

### A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football team on winning the 2020 National Championship.

WHEREAS, the Fighting Tigers of Louisiana State University (LSU) ended the 2019 football season undefeated with a record of 15-0 and became the national champions on January 13, 2020, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the championship game featured the top-seeded LSU Tigers from the Southeastern Conference defeating the third seed Clemson University Tigers from the Atlantic Coast Conference by a score of 42–25; and

WHEREAS, the win gave LSU their fourth national championship, but their first in the College Football Playoff era; and

WHEREAS, the team, led by Head Coach Ed "Coach O" Orgeron, and quarterback Joe Burrow, defeated each opponent skillfully and confirmed speculation from sports commentators that the 2019 LSU Tigers were the best team in the history of college football; and

WHEREAS, the regular season began with a win over Georgia Southern by a score of 55-3, and as the season progressed, the Tigers dominated each and every opponent; and

WHEREAS, defeating top teams in the Southeastern Conference and other conferences became commonplace as the team honed their skills on the gridiron and defeated their opponents week after week; and

### **SCR NO. 46**

#### ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the Tigers' opponents during the regular season were comprised of some of the best teams in collegiate football and included Georgia Southern, Texas, Northwestern State, Vanderbilt, Utah State, Florida, Mississippi State, Auburn, Alabama, Ole Miss, Arkansas, and Texas A&M; and

WHEREAS, the SEC Championship game had the Tigers squaring off against the University of Georgia Bulldogs, and after winning that game by a score of 37-10, they moved on to participate in one of the semifinal games in the College Football Playoffs, the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl, to take on the University of Oklahoma Sooners, and defeated them by a score of 63-28; and

WHEREAS, next up was the national championship against the number three ranked and defending champions, Clemson Tigers, and the LSU Tigers handled business and defeated them by a score of 42-25; and

WHEREAS, several coaches and players received accolades and awards for their performances during the 2019 season, including Joe Burrow who received the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award, the Davey O'Brien Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, and the Manning Award, as well as being named AP Player of the Year, Sporting News Player of the Year, and SEC Offensive Player of the Year; and

WHEREAS, "Coach O" received the AFCA Coach of the Year Award, the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award, the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award, and was named AP Coach of the Year, Home Depot Coach of the Year, and SEC Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase received the Fred Biletnikoff Award, safety Grant Delpit received the Jim Thorpe Award, and cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. was named SEC Newcomer of the Year in recognition of their accomplishments during the 2019 season; and

WHEREAS, in addition to individual awards, the LSU offensive line received the Joe Moore Award for the most outstanding offensive line unit in college football; and

WHEREAS, passing game coordinator, Joe Brady, received the Broyles Award, which is handed out to the best assistant coach in the nation; and

## SCR NO. 46

### ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the members of the LSU Fighting Tigers performed at the highest level of athletic excellence throughout the season and each of them deserves recognition for their vital contribution to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Ed "Coach O" Orgeron, the assistant coaches, and the support staff instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of leadership and motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football team is recognized for the well-deserved accolades earned throughout the season and showcasing the extraordinary athletic abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of collegiate competition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby express its sincere congratulations to the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football team, their coaches, and support staff for winning the 2019 national championship and for the sportsmanship shown while achieving such high honors for themselves, the students, faculty, and fans, the city of Baton Rouge, and the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of Louisiana State University, Athletic Director Scott Woodward, and Head Coach Ed Orgeron.

# PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES