BY SENATORS WALSWORTH, PEACOCK, PETERSON AND THOMPSON AND REPRESENTATIVES JAY MORRIS AND SHADOIN

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Legislature is pleased to honor and congratulate the 2018

Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners in recognition of their praiseworthy and exemplary work on behalf of the people of this state; and

WHEREAS, this prestigious accolade, presented by Prudential Financial, Inc. in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals, acknowledges middle and high school volunteers across America who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to their communities; and

WHEREAS, the Prudential Spirit of Community Award represents the largest youth recognition program in the country in which the sole criteria is volunteer service; and

WHEREAS, two State Honorees, one middle and one high school student, plus a select number of Distinguished Finalists from each state were selected based on criteria such as personal initiative, effort, impact, and personal growth; and

WHEREAS, Olivia Cuthbert of Dubach and Joey Gouthiere of Shreveport were named the 2018 State Honorees and will each receive one thousand dollars, silver medallions, and an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Olivia Davis of Shreveport, Nikki Leali of New Orleans, Emmaline Miller of Lafayette, and Sunakshi Sharma of Monroe were named the 2018 Distinguished Finalists and will receive bronze medallions for their accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, the strength of Louisiana depends on the hard work and dedication of young people exemplified by the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners, who have used their talents and abilities for the common good, and demonstrated a devotion to helping others; and

SCR NO. 40 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners have rightly earned the respect and admiration of their fellow citizens.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Olivia Cuthbert, Joey Gouthiere, Olivia Davis, Nikki Leali, Emmaline Miller, and Sunakshi Sharma.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES