BY SENATORS GATTI AND PEACOCK AND REPRESENTATIVES CREWS AND HORTON

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the archery team and coaches of Benton Middle School in Benton, Louisiana, for its accomplishment of winning the Middle School World Archery championship for the third consecutive year.

WHEREAS, teams competed among thousands of archers from across the United States at the National Archery In Schools Program 2017 World Tournament in Orlando, Florida, on July 21 and 22, 2017; and

WHEREAS, in the competition, Benton Middle School topped the leader board at number one out of sixty-six teams having scored three thousand three hundred sixty-three points; and

WHEREAS, despite not fielding any top five archers, the team effort, with good scores from the entire team of twenty-three archers, yielded the best team score among the competing teams; and

WHEREAS, the Benton Middle School team garnered one hundred seventy scores of ten and one hundred forty-six scores of nine, and none of the archers posted low scores of five through two on the way to their total team score, which was the product of a remarkably consistent show of skills and a performance of which the entire team can be proud; and

WHEREAS, of the 2017 team members, only six are eighth graders, meaning they will move on to high school, so the future appears bright for the archery team at Benton Middle School with as many as seventeen returning archers with championship experience; and

WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of coaches Terrie Streetman and Jessica Benoit, as well as all the other individuals who have contributed to the success of the Benton Middle School

SCR NO. 20 ENROLLED

archery program; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team are as follows: Averie Halverson, Amber Long, Lake Bradford, Josh Farris, Tatum Malone, Joshua Sanchez, Kale Gleason, Lauren Bayne, George Chambers, Drew Martin, Kaitlyn Masters, Tucker Gibbs, Wesley Alexander, Brian Anglin, Emma Rutledge, Carly Van Buskirk, Makenzie Puckett, Brady Duncan, Jazmine Young, Eason Searcy, Anna Robins, Alainah Taylor, and Katelyn Johnson; and

WHEREAS, the distinguished performance of the entire Benton Middle School archery team has earned the team its third consecutive National Archery In Schools Program 2017 World Tournament championship.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Benton Middle School archery team on its much deserved third consecutive championship earned through teamwork, determination, and dedication to the sport of archery.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Dr. Kyle Machen, principal of Benton Middle School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES