### SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 126

#### BY SENATOR PEACOCK

#### A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the United States Women's National Volleyball Team as it competes in the Team USA FIVB Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournament for the 2020 Olympic Games and welcomes them to the CenturyLink Center in Shreveport in August 2019.

WHEREAS, the USA Women's Volleyball Team, ranked third in the world, will compete against teams from Argentina, Bulgaria, and Kazakhstan in round-robin play, with the winner earning a berth in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games; and

WHEREAS, this is the first occurrence when the United States has been granted home-court advantage by the international federation that shall result in thousands of American fans cheering Team USA at the most important volleyball Olympic qualifier in the United States; and

WHEREAS, the CenturyLink Center will host the competitions from August 2 through August 4, 2019, and all three USA matches will be broadcast live on NBC Sports Network and the Olympic Channel, an internet television service; and

WHEREAS, the Shreveport-Bossier City Sports Commission, in cooperation with local officials, the Caddo Parish Commission, and the Bossier Parish Police Jury coordinated efforts along with the USA Volleyball organization to make this tournament location possible; and

WHEREAS, with each nation being allowed to participate in only two tournaments to qualify for the 2020 Olympic Games, this qualifier in Shreveport-Bossier City will play a critical role for Team USA hopefuls to compete in Tokyo, Japan; and

WHEREAS, the USA Women's National Volleyball Team is a member of the Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB), the global governing body of the sport; and

#### **SCR NO. 126**

#### ENROLLED

WHEREAS, Head Coach Karch Kiraly compiled a preliminary roster of thirty players that include Lauren Carlini, Micha Hancock, Carli Lloyd, Jordyn Poulter, Tita Akiu, Megan Courtney, Mary Lake, Justine Wong-Orantes, Rachael Adams, Tori Dixon, Lauren Gibbemeyer, Chiaka Ogbogu, Dana Rettke, Hannah Tapp, Paige Tapp, Haleigh Washington, Michelle Bartsch-Hackley, Mikaela Foecke, Kim Hill, Madi Kingdon Rishel, Jordan Larson, Simone Lee, Kelsey Robinson, Kadie Rolfzen, Sarah Wilhite Parsons, Danielle Cuttino, Annie Drews, Karsta Lowe, Krystal Rivers, and Jordan Thompson; and

WHEREAS, the USA is the only country to have medaled in each of the last three Olympic Games in women's indoor volleyball, having won silver in 2008 and 2012 followed by winning bronze in 2016; and

WHEREAS, the state of Louisiana has produced an Olympic volleyball champion, Danielle Scott, a Baton Rouge native and graduate of Woodlawn High School who is the single female player to compete in five Olympic games for indoor volleyball, having earned silver medals in 2008 and 2012; she has been inducted into the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Hall of Fame and into the International Volleyball Hall of Fame.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the United States Women's National Volleyball Team as they compete in the Team USA FIVB Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournament.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby welcome the USA Women's National Volleyball Team, its fans, and competitors to experience the hospitality of the Shreveport-Bossier region in Northwest Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Honorable Lorenz Walker, mayor of Bossier City; the Honorable Adrian Perkins, mayor of the city of Shreveport; Mr. Kelly Wells, executive director of the Shreveport-Bossier Sports Commission; Stormy Gage-Watts, president of the Caddo Parish Commission; and Doug Rimmer, president of the Bossier Parish Police Jury.

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES