SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 12 BY SENATORS AMEDEE AND WALSWORTH

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To create the State Capitol Complex Task Force to study and make recommendations to the legislature for the capitol park with respect to the state capitol building, traffic congestion, Capitol Lake, and the surrounding infrastructure.

WHEREAS, the capitol park means the area in the city of Baton Rouge containing the state capitol building and bounded on the south by Main Street, on the west by the Mississippi River, on the north by Choctaw Drive, and on the east by the Kansas City Southern Railway tracks; and

WHEREAS, with the development of the capitol park and location and relocation of state buildings, state agencies, offices and private businesses, this area has garnered a tremendous influx of traffic; and

WHEREAS, the area surrounding Third Street, State Capitol Drive, and Capitol Lake are of particular concern and requires a strategic plan to alleviate traffic congestion.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby create the Capitol Complex Task Force to study and make recommendations to the legislature for the capitol park, with respect to the state capitol building, traffic congestion, Capitol Lake, and the surrounding infrastructure.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Capitol Complex Task Force shall be composed of the following persons or their designees:

(1) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works.

(2) The chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works.

(3) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Environmental Quality.

(4) The chairman of the Senate Select Committee on Homeland Security.

(5) The chairman of the House Select Committee on Homeland Security.

(6) The secretary of the Department of Transportation and Development.

(7) The secretary of the Department of Natural Resources.

(8) The secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality.

(9) The director of the office of state buildings.

(10) The director of the office of facility planning and control within the division of administration.

(11) The director of the Downtown Development District of the city of Baton Rouge.

(12) The director of the Department of Public Works for East Baton Rouge Parish.

(13) The chairman of the Committee on Senate and Governmental Affairs or his designee.

(14) The chairman of the Committee on House and Governmental Affairs or his designee.

(15) A resident of Spanish Town in the city of Baton Rouge who shall be jointly selected by the state senator and state representative whose districts contain Spanish Town.

(16) A resident of the Capitol View subdivision in the city of Baton Rouge who shall be jointly selected by the state senator and state representative whose districts contain the Capitol View subdivision.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall convene no later than September 1, 2013, and at the first meeting, the task force shall elect a chair who shall be responsible for calling all subsequent meetings and electing such other officers as it deems appropriate. The majority of the total membership shall constitute a quorum and any official action of the task force shall require a vote of a majority of the quorum present and voting.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the task force shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their respective organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall report its findings, together with recommendations for action, to the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget no later than March 1, 2014, and shall report annually to the legislature.

SCR NO. 12

ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the chairman of the Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, the chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, the chairman of the Senate Committee on Environmental Quality, the chairman of the Senate Select Committee on Homeland Security, the chairman of the House Select Committee on Homeland Security, the chairman of the Department, the secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, the secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality, the director of the office of state buildings, the director of the office of facility planning and control within the division of administration, the director of the Downtown Development District for the city of Baton Rouge, the director of the Department of Public Works for East Baton Rouge Parish, the chairman of the Committee on House and Governmental Affairs, the chairman of the Committee on Senate and Governmental Affairs, and the state senator and state representative whose districts contain Spanish Town and the Capitol View subdivision.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES