SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 12

BY SENATOR MOUNT

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To recognize the distinct group of legislators representing in whole or in part the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Cameron, Calcasieu, Jefferson Davis and Vernon as the Southwest Legislative Delegation.

WHEREAS, due to tremendous growth and the combination of urban, suburban, and rural interests in the area of the state commonly known as "Southwest Louisiana," the legislators representing this area have an extraordinary need to organize and confer on the unique challenges and problems confronting this area; and

WHEREAS, the legislators representing this area of the state desire to be officially recognized as a delegation of the legislature to bestow additional significance upon their decisions and opinions as a group on legislation and issues affecting southwest Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize the distinct group of legislators representing the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Cameron, Calcasieu, Jefferson Davis and Vernon as the Southwest Legislative Delegation.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Legislature of Louisiana that the Southwest Legislative Delegation shall not be provided any funding, office space, equipment, or staff by the legislature or either house or any agency thereof.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the speaker of the House of Representatives and the president of the Senate.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE