SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 118

BY SENATOR WHITE AND REPRESENTATIVES HODGES AND IVEY

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Central High School Wildcats baseball team on winning its second consecutive Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A state championship.

WHEREAS, the Central High School Wildcats defeated the Sulphur High School Tornadoes by a score of 4-0 on May 12, 2018, at McMurry Park in Sulphur, Louisiana, to become the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Class 5A state champions for the second consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, third baseman Dalton Aspholm and pitcher Hunter Arnold led the way for the Wildcats; and

WHEREAS, Dalton Aspholm, the title game Most Valuable Player, had the two-RBI hit that helped stake the Wildcats to a 3-0 lead in the fourth inning; and

WHEREAS, the sixth-seeded Sulphur Tornadoes had eight hits, compared to five for the Wildcats, but pitcher Hunter Arnold's guile and craftiness, mixed with defense and a little luck, was a winning combination and he struck out four and walked two in a complete-game shutout; and

WHEREAS, in the bottom of the fourth inning, the Tornadoes were primed to score when a throw bounced past Dalton Aspholm at third base but it bounced right back to him off the fence allowing him to throw out a runner at the plate; and

WHEREAS, Dalton Aspholm finished 1-for-3 with the two RBIs, Sam Kenerson was 2-for-4, and Hunter Hebert and Brant Chauvin had RBI hits for the Wildcats; and

WHEREAS, the complexion of the game changed when the Wildcats strung together three hits to score three runs in the fourth; and

WHEREAS, Tornadoes pitcher Haden Parker walked R.J. Coffee, Drew Lasseigne singled, and two runners advanced on a passed ball before Dalton Aspholm slapped a single to left field that scored Coffee and courtesy runner Andrew Cangelosi; and

WHEREAS, Dalton Aspholm took second on the throw and then scored on a single by Brant Chauvin to make it 3-0, with Hunter Hebert adding an RBI hit in the seventh to SCR NO. 118 ENROLLED

clinch the title; and

WHEREAS, the members of the talented Wildcats squad, Quint Guerin, Gabe Baggett, Connor Cassels, Hunter Edwards, Brant Husser, Travis Dowden, Hunter Hebert, Hunter Arnold, Drew Lasseigne, Sam Kenerson, Brody Knapps, Brant Chauvin, Carson Balthazar, Eddie Pezant, Andrew Myrick, Nick Noble, Gabe Patterson, Todd Lasseigne, R.J. Coffee, Andrew Cangelosi, Dalton Aspholm, Max Bryant, Brady Ellis, Tyler Furr, Connor Delaune, Parker Austin, Brodie Demoulin, and Josh Williams, merit recognition and congratulations for their extraordinary performance and their competitive spirit throughout the season and the tournament; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of athletic excellence throughout the tournament and each of them deserves recognition for their vital contribution to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mike Forbes, and assistant coaches, Brian Brown, Mike Palermo, Ricky Creel, Antonio Ragusa, Hunter Edgens, Frank Fresina, and Clay Polk instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of leadership and motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, the Central High School Wildcats baseball team is recognized for the well-deserved accolades earned throughout the season and showcasing the extraordinary athletic abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of high school competition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby express its sincere congratulations to the Central High School Wildcats baseball team and their coaches for winning the LHSAA Class 5A state championship and for the sportsmanship shown while achieving such high honors for themselves, for Central High School, the city of Central, and the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Central High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES