2016 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 89

BY REPRESENTATIVE JEFFERSON

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Summerfield High School boys' and girls' basketball teams upon winning the 2016 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class C state championships.

WHEREAS, Head Coach Randy Carlisle took on double duty in the 2015-2016 basketball season by coaching the Summerfield High School girls' basketball team to a 30-1 record and the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Class C state championship on March 4, 2016, defeating Pleasant Hill High School by a score of 59-34; and, exactly one week later, Coach Carlisle led the Summerfield High boys' basketball team to the LHSAA Class C state championship on March 11, 2016, in a 72-54 victory over New Living Word; and

WHEREAS, the Summerfield Lady Rebels completed a second run at consecutive state titles, having previously won in 1967 and 1968, and now in 2015 and 2016; and

WHEREAS, the Summerfield boys' team got back on the state championship winning track with its 2016 title, having previously won in 1977, 1979, 1980, and 2000; and

WHEREAS, with the guidance of Coach Carlisle and assistant coaches Christy Chandler, Jasper Edwards, and Turner Madden, seniors Nicole Bursey, Jesikah Ford, Brandy Ganter, Taniya Johnson, Sharnesha Levingston, and Lakota Smith; junior Lamiya Ford; sophomores Marcedes Coleman, Klara Gilbert, and Kyera Larry; and eighth grader Ajai Meadors exhibited skill beyond measure and unwavering discipline in achieving the ultimate honor afforded to a high school girls' basketball team in Louisiana, and team managers Jared Ford, Kerra Howard, Chris Meadors, Lamesha Ridley, and team statistician Angela McCurry provided the season-long support necessary to achieve the championship feat; and

HR NO. 89 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the 2016 LHSAA boys' Class C state championship was won by Summerfield's male athletes through hard work and dedication; and senior Phendray Jackson; juniors Patrick Browder, Casey Chandler, Paul Corbin, Dakota Smith, and Trey Washington; sophomores Gary Bates, John Buggs, Tyrese Harper, Marquis Kennedy, and JaKerron Robb; ninth grader Rodney Larry; eighth grader Deontai Levingston; and seventh grader Eddie Kennedy, under the leadership of Coach Carlisle and his staff of assistant coaches Christy Chandler, Jasper Edwards, and Turner Madden, with the help of team managers Jared Ford and Chris Meadors and statistician Angela McCurry, all contributed to the amazing success of the team; and

WHEREAS, spokesman Chris Boone of the National Federation of State High School Associations lauded the school's double championship feat as a one-of-a-kind event, and this achievement is made even more amazing by the fact that, since his high school years, Randy Carlisle has been and remains the record holder in assists in the national federation; the work ethic of Coach Randy Carlisle has translated into a winning formula for the Rebels and the Lady Rebels of Summerfield High School, and it is fitting to express congratulations to the athletes, staff, and Head Coach Randy Carlisle for the merits won and the pride shown by the boys' and girls' basketball teams in their outstanding 2016 championship seasons.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Summerfield High School boys' basketball team and the Summerfield High School girls' basketball team for winning their respective 2016 Class C state championships; and does hereby recognize the outstanding performances of both teams and the pride and honor they have brought to their school and community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Randy Carlisle.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES