2018 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 73

BY REPRESENTATIVES AMEDEE, GISCLAIR, MAGEE, AND RICHARD

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Nicholls State University women's basketball team for its outstanding 2017-2018 season.

WHEREAS, there are fourteen teams that represent Nicholls State University in intercollegiate athletics; among these are the Nicholls State Lady Colonels women's basketball team, which competes in the Southland Conference as a National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I school; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Colonels displayed tremendous athletic prowess in the 2017-2018 basketball season; the team earned its first-ever berth in the NCAA tournament after they won the Southland Conference Tournament championship with a 69-65 victory over No. 2 seed Stephen F. Austin on March 11, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the 2017-2018 Lady Colonels tied the Nicholls State University women's basketball record for victories with a wins-losses record of 19-14, matched the program's longest winning streak of seven games, and made their seventh straight appearance in the Southland Conference Tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Colonels maintained the highest level of sportsmanship and displayed great character in the first round of the NCAA 2018 Division I Women's Basketball Championship as they faced No. 1 seed Mississippi State University in the Kansas City bracket; and

WHEREAS, the exemplary accomplishments of the Nicholls State University Lady Colonels could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of Mary "DoBee" Plaisance, head coach; assistant coaches Kris Goff, Justin Payne, and Jenny Nash; and Olivia Blachno, graduate assistant athletic trainer, all of whom have demonstrated the leadership,

HR NO. 73 ENROLLED

vision, and motivational skills needed to produce champion achievements on the basketball

court and in life; and

WHEREAS, for exceptional athletic performances throughout the 2017-2018 season,

each Lady Colonel deserves mention: seniors Tia Charles and Marina Lilly; juniors Cassidy

Barrios and Katherine Ward; sophomores Airi Hamilton, Tykeria Williams, and Bree

Wilson; and freshmen Lauryn Bowie, Destiny Collins, Kinzie Heineman, Korie Leary,

Bryanna Washington, and Paige Williams; and

WHEREAS, the talent and determination displayed by the 2017-2018 Lady Colonels

provided fans with exciting basketball entertainment throughout the season, and the athletes

and coaches of the Nicholls State University women's basketball team merit a sincere

measure of commendation for their remarkable athletic feats and for the honor they have

brought to Nicholls State University.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the members and staff of the Nicholls State

University women's basketball team for their outstanding achievements during the 2017-

2018 season, which included competing in the NCAA 2018 Division I Women's Basketball

Championship and does hereby extend enduring appreciation for the tremendous pride they

have brought to Nicholls State University, their community, and the state.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to Head Coach DoBee Plaisance.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2