2016 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 63

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROBERT JOHNSON

## A RESOLUTION

To commend Louisiana State University Boyd Professor Isiah Warner upon being named the 2016 Southeastern Conference Professor of the Year.

WHEREAS, on March 30, 2016, Isiah Warner, the Phillip W. West Professor of Analytical and Environmental Chemistry at LSU, was selected by the Southeastern Conference (SEC) to receive one of fourteen 2016 Faculty Achievement Awards, which recognizes the achievements of full professors at SEC universities who have records of extraordinary teaching and are recognized nationally or internationally; and

WHEREAS, Professor Warner attended Southern University and earned his doctorate in chemistry from the University of Washington; he has published more than three hundred forty articles in analytical and materials chemistry journals; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Warner has spent more than thirty-five years researching fluorescence spectroscopy and is considered one of the world's experts in the analytical applications of his technique; and

WHEREAS, in 2000, Dr. Warner was named Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching/CASE Louisiana for his undergraduate teaching skills; and

WHEREAS, widely recognized for his mentoring efforts, Dr. Warner is credited with increasing the numbers of minorities and women in the science fields taught at Louisiana State University, and these students have pursued postdoctoral studies at such prestigious institutions as Harvard, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Michigan, and the University of Washington; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Warner is one of only three people to maintain the designation of Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor over the past three competitions; and

HR NO. 63 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the LSU Board of Supervisors has given Dr. Warner its highest faculty

rank, Boyd Professor, for his contributions to the field of chemistry and his efforts to

improve minority participation in science fields; the students mentored by Professor Warner

and his colleagues have achieved a graduation rate in Science, Technology, Engineering, and

Math degrees that is double the LSU average; and

WHEREAS, LSU is number one in the country in the number of African Americans

finishing Ph.D.s in chemistry, and number one in the percentage of Ph.D. chemistry

graduates who are women; and

WHEREAS, on April 12, 2016, LSU Boyd Professor Isiah Warner was selected as

the Southeastern Conference 2016 Professor of the Year from the elite field of fourteen 2016

Faculty Achievement Award winners, and it is appropriate to acknowledge the great honor

conferred upon Dr. Warner and to congratulate him for achieving this milestone in his

educational career.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Louisiana State University

Boyd Professor Isiah Warner upon being named the Southeastern Conference 2016 Professor

of the Year and does hereby extend best wishes for continued success in his every endeavor.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to Dr. Isiah Warner.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2