2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 50

BY REPRESENTATIVE MARINO

## A RESOLUTION

To commend St. Anthony School in Gretna upon the celebration of its centennial.

WHEREAS, St. Anthony School holds a special place in the history of Jefferson Parish as an institution that has served its residents for one hundred years; and

WHEREAS, the school was originally established in 1919 and was staffed by the Sisters of Perpetual Adoration from the Infant Jesus Convent of St. Joseph's Church; construction on the current school building began in 1942; the Sisters of Christian Charity staffed the new school, which opened its doors to one hundred forty-six children up to the fourth grade in its first year in the new space; and

WHEREAS, today, the school is served by a lay principal and parishioner, Jo Anna Russo, and a dedicated lay faculty and all classrooms are equipped with computers and smart boards; and

WHEREAS, many former students of St. Anthony School send their children to the school; with a dedicated staff and a supportive administration, the school prepares students for challenges that lie ahead, lays a foundation for them to develop into lifelong learners, and sets them on a path to success in and outside of the classroom; and

WHEREAS, as it celebrates one hundred years as a Jefferson Parish institution, St. Anthony School merits a sincere and heartfelt measure of commendation for its enduring commitment to excellence in Catholic education.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend St. Anthony School in Gretna upon the celebration of its centennial and does hereby recognize and record for posterity the tremendous pride and honor that this exemplary school brings to the city of Gretna, Jefferson Parish, the state of Louisiana, and all who have walked its halls over the past one hundred years.

HR NO. 50 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of St. Anthony School in Gretna.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES