2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 3

BY REPRESENTATIVE DEVILLIER

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Eunice High School Bobcats football team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A state championship.

WHEREAS, in earning its first state championship since 1982, the Eunice High School Bobcats put on an offensive display worthy of the title of champions; Eunice High's athletic director and head coach, Paul Trosclair, and his staff led the football team to a thrilling 59-47 win over the Sterlington Panthers at the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Class 3A championship game on Friday, December 7, 2018, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans; and

WHEREAS, those in attendance knew they were in for the game of their lifetimes when, on the first play, Sterlington's D.J. Calvin returned the opening kickoff ninety-one yards for a touchdown, and Eunice High School's Jordan Ledet returned the favor by returning the ensuing kickoff eighty-nine yards for a touchdown for the champs; and

WHEREAS, standout athlete Avrey Lee, who Coach Trosclair has called "a man of multiple talents on the football field", was named the game's Most Valuable Player after garnering eighty-seven yards rushing with a score and two passing touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, each student athlete on the Eunice High School football team deserves mention for his contributions throughout the 2018 season and in the title game: seniors Tyler Darbonne, Isiah Darby, Jerry Douglas, Javondre Edwards, Deonte Gallow, Nicholas Jerry, Parker Jodon, Zac Joubert, Greg Langley, Jordan Ledet, Avrey Lee, Alex Hardy, Austin Phillips, Julian Rogers, Brodi Walker, and Carlin Vigers; juniors Demarkel Alfred, Caiden Burson, Noah Courville, Lane Devillier, Evan Fruge, Landon Fruge, Gavin Higginbotham, Jordan Oglesby, Isiah Pitre, Devin Richardson, Raishek Scott, Xavier Sharlow, and Terrance Tezeno; sophomores Deon Ardoin, Simeon Ardoin, Jacoby Collins, Traelyn Cooper, Dylan

HR NO. 3 ENROLLED

Fontenot, Hayden Gil, Dylan Guillory, Landen Higginbotham, Jeoul Hill, Samuel Leblue, Bryson Miller, Gage Miller, Jahiem Mitchell, Bryson Poullard, Kevontdraay Savoy, Darwin Soileau, Zach Suire, and Garrett Thibodeaux; and freshmen Dylan Darbonne, Kameron Ferguson, Matthew Fruge, Edward Hill, Thomas Oglesby, Terrance Shillow, Dedric Vigers, and Myles Woods; and

WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of head coach Trosclair and the rest of the coaching staff, Chad Andrepont, Ryan Deshotel, Josh Guidry, Dale Guillory, Jacque Joubert, L'Quintin Lamb, Cade Richard, Jamie Smith, Trenon Trosclair, and Andre Vige; team medical staff, Phillip Bacilla, M.D., and Michael Sonnier, F.N.P.C.; athletic trainer, Kyle Vincent, L.A.T., A.T.C.; student trainer assistants, Ava Devillier, Camille Pitre, Gracie Savoy, Kelly Sonnier, Kiley Tauzin, and Olivia Thibodeaux; student equipment manager, Harold Fontenot; student trainer sponsor, Misty Guillory; film technicians, Joe Brown, Lauren Brown, Tre' Brown, Keith Fontenot, and Wayne Fontenot; and student tech crew members, Josiah Doucet, Isaiah McGee, Avery Ortego, and Deacon Richard; with administrative support from Mitch Fontenot, principal of Eunice High School, and assistant principals, Kristy McLemore and Brett Simien, the labor of the team's student athletes and the coaching staff resulted in the title of 2018 LHSAA Class 3A state champions and brings enduring pride and joy to the student body, faculty, alumni, and fans of Bobcats football.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Eunice High School Bobcats football team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A state championship and does hereby express best wishes for the continued success of the program and the individual success of each student athlete.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Eunice High School.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES