2024 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 20

BY REPRESENTATIVE BAGLEY

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Zwolle High School boys' basketball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2024 Division V Non-Select state championship.

WHEREAS, the Zwolle High School Hawks captured the 2024 Division V Non-Select state title by defeating Anacoco High School, 45-41, in the championship match held at Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the victory gives Zwolle High School back-to-back Division V Non-Select state titles in boys' basketball and a state-record seventeen state basketball titles overall; the Hawks have also emerged victorious in seven of their last nine championship appearances; and

WHEREAS, Zwolle received impressive performances from numerous players during the championship game; Howard Etheridge was named the game's Most Outstanding Player after scoring thirteen points, Preston Sanders contributed twelve points and eleven rebounds, and Alec Williams added another twelve points; and

WHEREAS, the Zwolle High School Hawks basketball team and coach Bradley Lauren are most deserving of the highest recognition for their incredible achievements this year.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Zwolle High School boys' basketball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2024 Division V Non-Select state championship; does hereby further recognize the Zwolle High School basketball program for claiming a record-setting seventeen state titles; and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the team's players and coaches continue their excellent work and always strive for greatness.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES