2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 181

BY REPRESENTATIVES ABRAMSON AND TALBOT

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Metairie Park Country Day School volleyball team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division V state championship.

WHEREAS, on November 10, 2018, in the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Division V state championship at the Pontchartrain Center in Kenner, the Metairie Park Country Day Cajuns defeated the Ascension Episcopal Blue Gators; and

WHEREAS, the thrilling state championship was a culmination of another unforgettable season for the team; and

WHEREAS, for Country Day this was the team's third consecutive Division V title and its ninth state title in ten years; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team, Ashlyn Barwick, Kaci Chairs, Caroline Conwill, Kelsey Dinvaut, Betsy Feirn, Sophia Henderson, Lily Horridge, Kate Launey, Rachel Lavis, Megan Masson, Lauren Perlis, Alex Smith, Mary Tebbe, Kamryn Thomas, Virginia Vaughan, Ellison Vosbein, and Sydney Wright, performed at the highest level of excellence, and each of these great Cajuns deserves recognition for her vital contributions to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, the amazing feats of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of coaches Julie Ibieta, Myra Bordelon, Dana Launey, and Lauren Leaumont, and all of the other individuals who have contributed to the success of the school's volleyball program; and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding season upholds the glorious tradition of the Cajuns, and all Metairie Park Country Day School alumni and fans recognize the immense pride and distinguished honor that the team brings to its school, community, and state.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Metairie Park Country Day School volleyball team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division V state championship and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine volleyball program as they celebrate their exceptional season and prepare for continued success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Julie Ibieta.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES